We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From simple beginnings”

Burns National Heritage Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.37*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to the life and work of Scotland's most famous poet, Robert Burns. Site includes the Museum, the cottage in which Burns was born and lived until the age of seven, the Brig'o'Doon, Alloway Old Kirk and the Poet's Path
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“From simple beginnings”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were down for the weekend & had just been to the museum which is about 10 minutes away. We were lucky to enter the cottage when a tour guide was starting to explain the details about the cottage. There are 4 rooms - The barn, the byre, the parlour and kitchen where the family ate & slept.

Very interesting beginnings for Robert Burns. The place was used as an Ale house. Most of the house has been restored to give you a feel of what it must have been like in the past. The ground are well kept & we were lucky that we were down over September weekend and the weather was great.

Must see if you are in Ayrshire

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    12
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would Burns have given them poetic pelters?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It seemed like a great idea to have a function at the Burns Heritage Centre. It's a pleasant corner of the town, the cottage is very interesting and the heritage centre venue is, comfortable, clean and bright. The gardens are well kept and safe for children.
We chose a basic buffet which was referred to as a "rolling buffet" by the catering manager and although it was to be basic sandwiches and pastries, I was told that it would be replenished during the evening (rolling) and that the quality of food was "superb" and this influenced my decision to go ahead.
The reality was extremely dissappointing as the rolling buffet did not roll at all. Instead the catering staff decanted items from one platter to another which made it look tidy but replenished nothing. A lot of people who were well mannered enough to let the initial rush die down before eating themselves either got very little to eat or nothing at all. If this had affected only a few I would not have been concerned. There were a lot of them. Additionally the food was very ordinary and the sausage rolls dubious.
The catering managers defense was to make irrelevant remarks about some of the guests and a shameful tit for tat response. I was also told that the centre do functions all the time and have never had a complaint before.
On enquiry I was told that while working out quantities they count less than a full round of sandwiches per head and although there were pastries on the menu the quantities allowed for were meagre for most adults.
It was very dissappointing and the portions small. It was not good value for money.
The overall manager and catering staff were in the main very good, efficient and polite with the clear exception of one.
I put it down to experience which I now share with you. If you are looking for a venue around Ayr there are a great many with an equally pleasant environment but with much better food, prices and attitudes to their customers.
If you are on a day visit be prepared for high prices in the coffee shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cthompson322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The full Burns experience.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If interested in our national bard this is a must. Very informative and certainly interesting. Good gift shop and cafeteria. Within walking distance of the kirk, brig and cottage.


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreams of fairy-Tales”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was lovely. I spent over 5 hours there. All were interesting, wonderful. The weather was nice and you meet nice people (children, parents, grandparents, banker, and so on).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2013_Anne_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You can't go to Ayr and not visit Burns' birthplace”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can't go to Ayr and not visit Burns' birthplace, so I went... however although I can now say I've been I'm not sure that the attraction offers anything of special interest. I visited on a blisteringly hot day so it was lovely to walk through the well kept gardens and along the poet's walk, and I enjoyed an Arran ice cream which was very tasty, however inside the Burns' cottage itself was little more than a typical Scottish cottage... interesting in itself I guess if you haven't seen one before. The ticket gave access to the Museum s well which was of some interest although again had very few artefacts, and the etched glass fronted cabinets, although very "arty" were very difficult to read with the back-lighting. I'm pleased that I visited but would recommend a visit (as you can't go to Ayr and not visit Burns' birthplace) with some reservations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh22W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burns National Heritage Park also viewed

 

Been to Burns National Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing