We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, friendly B&B in Ayr”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Ranked #12 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spotless, friendly B&B in Ayr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked two rooms for a short holiday in August, starting point for a trip to the Highlands. Jackie is the perfect hostess, very friendly and informative. Very good breakfast. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Wifi is hit and miss in the topmost rooms, but this did not detract from our stay. Jackie helps with recommendations for attractions and also restaurants. There is 'tight' parking at ther rear of the building, but street parking is plentiful also. Would certainly return and recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingfoosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were recommended Turas Mara by another B & B nearby who did not have en-suite rooms, that shows how good this establishment is. The room that we occupied was comfortable, well furbished and well stocked with all toiletries..... the only thing you needed to bring was your toothbrush and toothpaste. Morrison's is over the road and the town centre only a few minutes walk, so don't take your car..... getting round the town centre is a nightmare, one way traffic on a ring road and no parking anyway!
An added bonus to the breakfast buffet was a dish of fresh fruit salad, a very nice and tasty touch..... only criticism I could find was the the cooked portion of the breakfast could have been better presented, and that it nit picking I know....!

Room Tip: We only saw the room that we occupied and the noise level only rose in the morning when folks were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

There's really little to add to previous reviews citing warmth of welcome, comfort and excellence of breakfast. The generous provision of good-quality toiletries is worth a mention, though, as is proximity to station and town centre for those using public transport. Would recommend to anybody. I don't understand why it does not stand higher in the local rankings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0egreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed for a few days at Turas-Mara, and we cant rate this place highly enough. We found Jackie to be a warm, friendly and accomodating hostess. As most of the reviews say, nothing seemed to be too much for her. The breakfast selection was excellent, the room was beautiful and comfortable. What more can we say, we loved staying here and we hope to get back a couple of times next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

can't recommend Turas-Mara highly enough, Jackie and Billy are excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble, our room was excellent with a comfy bed and breakfast was superb, we will definately stay again and will recommend to our friends :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stay here every year for a few days each July and Jackie is a superb hostess and provides a wonderful selection for the breakfast - better than any 4 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0ttyd0tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
528 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I took the gf away to this guest house for the weekend and the min we arrived it was great the hous elooked lovley from inside to outside. Our room was down stairs and it was good size double bed was comfy aswell there there was onsite parking but it was full so we had to park outside the house,The breakfast in the morning was lovley i ordered two rolls in beans not what they usally get people asking for tho. great stay for £80 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: check online for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.1 mi away
Coila Guest House
Coila Guest House
#5 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#9 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.3 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Turas-Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Property: A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Address: 25 Castlehill Road, Ayr KA7 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A' Turas-Mara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Billy look forward to welcoming you to Turas-Mara their beautifully maintained and comfortable Victorian Guest House. A place you can relax and enjoy the homely atmosphere while sampling the famed Scottish Hospitality. Less than a 5 minute walk from Ayr Town Centre and Railway Station and only 5 miles from Glasgow Prestwick Airport (direct rail route). Turas-Mara is only 5 minutes from the wedding venues of Brig O'Doon or Western House. We offer a complimentary lift to these hotels for wedding guests (please let us know if you require this service at time of booking). An ideal base to explore Burns Country or enjoy a golfing holiday. All our rooms have been decorated in a modern but homely style yet retain original features. Our bedrooms are all en-suite with free WiFi , flat screen digital TV with Freeview, DVD player and many extras to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your A' Turas-Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A' Turas-Mara Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing