We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Ranked #12 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
509 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Good !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I took the gf away to this guest house for the weekend and the min we arrived it was great the hous elooked lovley from inside to outside. Our room was down stairs and it was good size double bed was comfy aswell there there was onsite parking but it was full so we had to park outside the house,The breakfast in the morning was lovley i ordered two rolls in beans not what they usally get people asking for tho. great stay for £80 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: check online for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
55
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and our room was really lovely, everything in the place was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful, it`s a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetwotravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This small B & B is very good, the place is spotlessly clean and very nicely furnished. The owner is most welcoming and helpful and she cooks an ace breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LellMaryport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

After our first visit in 2010 we were dtermined to return.We are frequent travellers and have stayed in numerous hotels,guest houses and b&b's throughout Scotland.Turas Mara is one of the best by far- friendly hosts,comfortable accomodation and fabulous food,=.What more can I say- thank you Jackie and Billy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

really fantastic place to stay very clean and friendly rooms are very cosy breakfast lovely would highly recomenned it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debjam19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
396 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Fantastic hospitality, clean, comfy, great breakfast...short walk from train, great price!

Jackie & Billy have got it right in Ayr, Scotland. With children grown & gone, they converted their extra space for a guest house with all rooms having "en suite" (that's a bathroom in each room for us Americans). Our room was a family room with double, single, and rollaway single all for 65pounds a night! Breakfast was included & fantastic...your choice of Jackie & Billy's hot cooked fare or the cereals, fruits, yogurts available. We had plenty of eggs, bacon (more like ham in US), pancakes, potato scones (yum!), fruit, cereal, hot drinks! yum! my mouth is watering just typing this review! :) Jackie will even make you a sandwich & soup at the end of the day if you don't want to go out.

From Ayr we visited Robert Burns Heritage Park & Culzean Castle...using the bus....quite a feat to accomplish, but we made it! Make sure you're on the correct side of the street to catch your bus...they post the schedule on both sides, but it only runs on one side! Google maps will easily give you bus routes you can follow. Culzean Castle is not to be missed if you're in the area...plan for a whole day as the grounds are extensive, lots of walking! Gorgeous, though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

superb location, spotless and well equipment rooms(from soap to cotton buds), great hopitality, the owners love what they do and you can see it in every detail!
place where you know you will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazda323f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.8 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.1 mi away
Coila Guest House
Coila Guest House
#5 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#7 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Turas-Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Property: A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Address: 25 Castlehill Road, Ayr KA7 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A' Turas-Mara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Billy look forward to welcoming you to Turas-Mara their beautifully maintained and comfortable Victorian Guest House. A place you can relax and enjoy the homely atmosphere while sampling the famed Scottish Hospitality. Less than a 5 minute walk from Ayr Town Centre and Railway Station and only 5 miles from Glasgow Prestwick Airport (direct rail route). Turas-Mara is only 5 minutes from the wedding venues of Brig O'Doon or Western House. We offer a complimentary lift to these hotels for wedding guests (please let us know if you require this service at time of booking). An ideal base to explore Burns Country or enjoy a golfing holiday. All our rooms have been decorated in a modern but homely style yet retain original features. Our bedrooms are all en-suite with free WiFi , flat screen digital TV with Freeview, DVD player and many extras to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A' Turas-Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A' Turas-Mara Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing