We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardwell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights 25th and 26th September,we were going to a concert in Glasgow .From arrival until departure they couldn`t do enough for you. The bedroom was very clean and very roomy.The shower was hot and toiletries supplied.On arrival tea offered and 4 pieces of delicious cake.There were more than ample teabags,coffee,hot chocolate,biscuits for a quick snack.Given own key as we were late back from concert.Both mornings started with a full freshly cooked breakfast.If your ever in this area please consider the Ardwell very good value for money and very nice people running it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunvegan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I consider myself fortunate to have found this excellent B&B. I only stayed one night, as a break in my solo journey from the Scottish Highlands to the south of England. Value for money was excellent - so many B&Bs require the payment of 'single supplements', but not so at Ardwell. I was offered tea or coffee on arrival, and my room also had a well-loaded tray of kettle, teabags, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.

Although when booking online, I specified a single room, I was in fact accommodated in a large ensuite room which had both a single and king size double bed. Obviously, I had plenty of space! The room was very clean and smartly furnished, though to be picky, I'll mention a lack of full length mirror or table on which to place a laptop computer (wi-fi was freely available) and there was no shaver socket in the bathroom. I chose to sleep in the single bed, which had a supportive mattress and soft pillows. I have no reason to doubt that the double bed would be equally as comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the guest lounge/dining room. I had a 'full cooked', which was promptly presented and perfectly cooked. Service was just right - very friendly, but without being at all obtrusive.

Ardwell looks much like a small bungalow from the outside, the B&B accommodation being a large first floor extension to the rear with its own door to the outside. The location is on the outskirts of the small town of Mauchline - an interesting little place well worthy of a visit, and notable for its associations with the Bard, Robert Burns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

On the way to Arran we were very fortuneate to find this lovely B&B. We were given a warm welcome and the tea and pancakes on arrival were much appreciated. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westminster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are not usually B&B types but stayed here when attending a friend's party in the village and we were so impressed! Una and Morton could not be more polite, warm and helpful! They were lovely to chat to but also gave us plenty of our own space. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and impeccably clean, and the in-room facilities were better than many hotels we've been to! Guest bedrooms and the breakfast room are via a seperate entrance and corridor to the family living spaces so you don't feel like you're having to sit in a stranger's living room or anything like that! Breakfast was perfect too, great selection of cereals and spreads for toast, lovely big Scottish Breakfast too and they offered to cook our eggs anyway we wanted, which we thought was a nice touch. Everything was cooked to perfection! Would definately recommend Ardwell to anyone. We both said we would love to go back here for a little weekend away or something.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
9.8 mi away
Craigie Guest House
Craigie Guest House
#29 of 54 in Ayr
27 reviews
9.7 mi away
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dykefield Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Mauchline
7 reviews
10.6 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardwell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardwell Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ardwell Bed & Breakfast
Address: 103 Loudoun Street | Mauchline, Ayr KA5 5BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardwell Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ardwell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardwell Bed & Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing