We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a coffee break”
Review of Peggy's Tearoom

Peggy's Tearoom
Ranked #9 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Ayr
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee break”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stopped in whilst travelling South on A77 to have a look around and a drink. The place is really nicely done as you'd expect from a Costly venue. Coffee, milkshake and millionaire shortbread were all great - we even got a bit of sunshine whilst sitting outside in the garden centre area. The service was OK but one of the younger girls was a bit grumpy and looked like she didn't want to be there. Deli and gift shop were both interesting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandBairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“A Thatched Gem, Plenty to see and Beautifully restored”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A number of people had suggested a visit to Kirkoswald to see this development that has done a superb job of bringing back to life the heart of a run down village with strong Robert Burns connections. A great pity about the disgraceful state of Souter Johhnie's Cottage - but that's down to others to fix. The Peggy's Tearoom buildings are looking very smart and have been thatched very well - speaking as a Devonian I know good thatch when I see it.

The 'tea room' has a good range of food at a reasonable price and the surroundings were clean, airy and interesting. The delicatesen was well stocked with a wonderful selection of interesting foods and delectable chocolates. A chocolate shop and 'factory' is also to be found at the back of the nearby Souter Johnnie's Inn. An ideal place to stop off for a break of journey. The service was a little less than attentive, but the place was busy and the range of pastries was an extra enticement to add to the order and keep the staff occupied.

A small garden centre is present and upstairs has a shop with a wide range of craft items at fairly high prices. Crossraguel Abbey is nearby and very much worth a visit. The old Kirkoswald Kirk ruins are just across the road and the relevant Burns graves are listed on the interpretation board.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for tea!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Very friendly service, fresh scones with cream and jam and a nice lunch menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stopped off for a late lunch and found the place to be delightful. The food was fresh and delicious and very reasonably priced. Cakes and traybakes looked fabulous so we even ordered some of these to go as a treat for later in the day. Staff were accommodating and toilet facilities were clean and pleasant. We fully intend to call in again the next time we are in Ayr.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolajane6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly, hard working staff and good, enjoyable food!”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

first time i went i was pleasantly surprised with how nice the staff were and how good the food was, bakery items looked very delicious and the other food was great! definitely recommend this for people to stop by this lovely tea room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catcatcatacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy's Tearoom also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Dalmellington, East Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Peggy's Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing