We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to stay.. will return!!!!!”
Review of Appin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appin House
Ranked #15 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay.. will return!!!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this Guest House with my daughter for 5 days. We had a amazing welcoming, Melissa carried our cases up to our room which was a shock.. The house is Family run by Melissa and David and have a beautiful daughter. The stay was the best, Breakfast was delicious, we dont even get as nice eggs in Ireland. The food, the room was amazing everything there .. that was like home from home. They are both a very friendly and helpful couple, and we left like friends and i miss my stay in such a wonderful house. Easy 5 stars, will be back when in area again. xx

Room Tip: All the room were the same 100%. x
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
69
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently stayed for an overnight with my husband as we were going to a wedding reception at Brig-O-Doon. Beautiful, spotless clean and comfortable room. A great stay from a very welcoming family! Breakfast set us up for the day and we wouldn't hesitate to return to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissieP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

By chance decided to try this Bed & Breakfast and can agree with all the previous reviews - excellent! Very helpful and friendly owners making us feel like friends instead of guests. Delicious breakfasts, lovely room - spotless with great shower. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayrmax3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed over the weekend as part of a family weekend.
Very nice rooms excellent facilities and very well presented.
Lovely breakfast in the morning cooked to order.
The owners were very friendly.
Good value and look forward to staying here again. Easy 5 stars.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

me and my husband went to stay here for the first time for our anniversary.The place was amazing the people that that ran the guest house were really lovely and so kind we were so welcome from the minute we arrived.The guest house was so clean and was really lovely it was amazing staying there for the week end i would recommend any one to stay here we had such a lovely time.And owners of the guest house really lovely people.

Room Tip: This appin guest house in ayr was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a lovely place to stay.....pretty perfect!!!! Only stayed one night at Appin on our way up to Dornoch to break up the 450 mile journey but so glad we did and if the weather had been better would have stayed on the way back too!!!! Fabulous hosts - thank you to Melissa & David......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila59AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I were planning to travel from Yorkshire to Aye to buy some kittens (Yes, a 4.5 hour drive must seem excessive, but there you go!)..

We had seen Appin House on Trip Advisor and decided to book on the strength of the reviews here. We were definitely not disappointed! On arrival we parked on the road outside, our car just fitting into the space provided. There were also plenty of room on their drive where we could have parked, had the road spot been taken. On arrival we rang the bell and were greeted by a sleepy David (He'd been having a well deserved snooze - It was a Saturday afternoon, after all!) who opened the door with a big smile on his face and showed us to our room. It was made absolutely apparent that nothing would be too much trouble.

The room itself was amazing, very spacious, excellent decor that felt as though it had just been decorated and scrupulously clean. The bathroom was the same, it looked very very clean, and as though it had recently been decorated. The shower was absolutely and utterly magnificent. I've never had such a powerful shower. It truly was amazing!

We were asked what we would like for our breakfasts the night before, and given a little card to fill in with our choices.

We then went out to meet our kittens and to find some food - we ate at Lychee's restaurant, which was amazing!

The morning after we awoke early and went downstairs to the breakfast room, and were waited on hand and foot! There's a good selection of breakfast fayre, apart from the hot food which was ordered the night before. There were yoghurts, 4 or 5 different cereals and toast etc.

The full Scottish breakfast was amazing, I can't compliment them enough! (Tip, if you fancy 2 of anything, just put 2 ticks down on the card!) Bacon, Sausage, egg, black pudding, tomato and a tatty scone. Absolutely fantastic, cooked fresh to order. Beautiful!

All in all, an excellent experience, and for the price, far far better than we were expecting!

We can highly recommend every aspect of this marvellous guest house!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.2 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grange View B&B
Grange View B&B
#11 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin House

Property: Appin House
Address: 11 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appin House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appin House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing