We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend at the races”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
accrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“weekend at the races”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

afton villa bed&breakfast was excellent from faye the proprieter to the beautifullydecored rooms.the location is fantastic being literally 100yards from ayr racecourse.faye was the hostess with the mostest.she was friendly and had lots of information.the breakfast was phenominal with a large choice we have rebooked for next year and i could reccomend the afton 100% a fantastic holiday break

Room Tip: both rooms used where faultless and spacious especially the kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
97
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagen, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've been very warmly welcomed and provided with some good information about what to see and where to eat.And also i've had one of the best breakfasts i've ever had,both in quantity AND quality.The Bedroom (ensuite) was very clean and spacious,and provides with coffee and tea making facilities (of course),sat-tv and free wifi.
I can highly recommend this B&B and if I'm in this area again book in advance,just to make sure i can stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We used the B&B for overnight accomodation whilst attending a wedding at the Western House Hotel, the B&B was an excellent location as the wedding venue was literally a stones throw away. The B&B was exceptionally clean and I found the owner Faye and her staff warm and welcoming. Our room was spacious, light and airy, the bed was comfortable and both myself and my partner enjoy a good nights sleep. We decided to take breakfast, which to my suprise was included in the overnight cost of the room, the breakfast was well presented and gave guests ample choice. Overall I would recommed this B&B to my family and friends and would not hesitate to visit again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theclell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, a very warm welcome on arrival. We stayed in a family room, with the option of either 3 single beds or a double & single for a child. We had a nice size bathroom to ourselves.

A beautiful cooked breakfast was made for us & a selection of cereals & juices available too.

If we were to stay in Ayr again we wouldn't look anywhere else! It would be very handy for Ayr Racecourse which is a 60 second walk & a 5 minute drive to Ayr town centre.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xDAMOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Only stayed for 3 nights, wish it had been longer! Our excellent host Faye was warm and welcoming and very helpful giving us directions into town and where to eat. Bedrooms and en-suites were spotless and the beds so comfy. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and a really wide choice. Will definitely stay again if we're in the area and certainly will recommend to anyone visiting Ayrshire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me and my mum (Mary & Maria) stayed at the Afton Villas for just 1 night as we where attending a 60th birthday party. The location of this B&B is top notch, near racecourse and walking distance for town centre etc and was, also to our suprise only 3 mins walk to our party! wow...
Room was magnificent bed was sooooo comfy had everything you need. Breakfast was lovely and a very good selection/choice. I had full Scottish breakfast mmm very nice. Faye was very helpful and made our stay one to remember. Will be visiting Ayr again and would highly recommend this b&b this is where i will be staying from now on.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are cooler as more shaded throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feldog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a lovely 3 day stay at afton villa.Faye is an excellent host,nothing is to much trouble,would recommend this b&b to anybody planning a visit to Ayrshire.Spotless spacious rooms ,and a stunning breakfast,would certainly book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.9 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#8 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.9 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 Whitletts Road, Ayr KA8 0JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast is a family managed B&B ideally situated across from Ayr Racecourse & Western House Hotel.We have 3 bedrooms 2 of which are en-suite and situated on the first floor, the 3rd bedroom which is a medium twin with shared facillities is also on the first floor. Located in the centre of Ayr, close to many good restaurants and only minutes from peaceful walks along the banks of the River Ayr. Robert Burns Birth Place Museum is two miles & Culzean Country Park is just a twenty minute drive. All prices are inclusive of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing