We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, well situated”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Afton Villa was absolutely wonderful. Fay was very attentative, our room was clean, large enough to move aorund freely and comfortable. We were there to go to the Ayr racing, this was just across the road, and only 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Would definately go back there if visiting Ayr again. 5/5

Room Tip: tell Fay what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineandKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
95
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FORFAR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in downstairs room with its own private bathroom.It was very clean and we realy enjoyed the privacy.Faye was very friendly and welcomeing and we will be back in the future. John and Shiela Guthrie.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RACEDAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a delightful B & B in Ayr and we received a very friendly welcome. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed and comfortable. When you add a great breakfast, safe parking and pubs and restaurants within walking distance, what more could you want?

Room Tip: All rooms would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the Afton Villa for a family wedding at the Ayr Racecourse so it was in an ideal location for us ( just across the road)
Our room was very clean and the bed was comfy, brekkie was very nice also but wished it could have been served a little later than 9.30 on a weekend but very nice all the same, Car park a bit of a nightmare when it is full only holds 4 cars but is very tight to get in and out of but we managed eventually. Overall an ok stay but don't think we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
You have given a false review regarding your stay at Afton Villa, the downstairs bedroom you were occupying which has a private bathroom next door to bedroom is certainly NOT a shared bathroom there is only 1 bedroom downstairs and you were occupying it also the bathroom is not next door to the dinning room it is the bedroom. The car park holds 4 cars quite easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Faye was so welcoming and friendly meeting us on arrival. The room was absolutely gorgeous with a fantastic en-suite. Very, very clean. Beautiful cooked breakfast and/or continental. The B & B is right next to Ayr Racehorse Course and a 5 minute walk to the town centre and beach. Perfect location. We will definitely be coming back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzamav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were given a warm, friendly welcome on arrival. The room was fresh, clean, tastefully presented and a joy to relax in. Breakfast was superb with fresh fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast on offer. A great base to go and investigate the 'Land of Burns'. Would highly recommend an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstrathd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

this accomodation was excellent and the owner made us feel so welcome.
The cleanliness of the accommodation was superb.

Room Tip: all seamed exelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muirwood59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.9 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.9 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 61 in Ayr
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 Whitletts Road, Ayr KA8 0JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast is a family managed B&B ideally situated across from Ayr Racecourse & Western House Hotel.We have 3 bedrooms 2 of which are en-suite and situated on the first floor, the 3rd bedroom which is a medium twin with shared facillities is also on the first floor. Located in the centre of Ayr, close to many good restaurants and only minutes from peaceful walks along the banks of the River Ayr. Robert Burns Birth Place Museum is two miles & Culzean Country Park is just a twenty minute drive. All prices are inclusive of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing