We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay - Paul and Rhona treat us like family - SIMPLY THE BEST”
Review of Ayrs & Graces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayrs & Graces
Ranked #14 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“A memorable stay - Paul and Rhona treat us like family - SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left Paul and Rhona made our stay memorable. They couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Their welcome was warm and inviting. The surroundings are fabulous. On top of their lovely hospitality the B&B is outstanding. It is spotlessly clean, comfortable and relaxing. The views are magnificent and on a lovely day you can see for miles and miles. The breakfast in the morning was gorgeous, I had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon which I would highly recommend. I can totally recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay for either a romantic night or a day at Ayr races as it is well located and quiet. Although there is no promise of any tips for the races Paul has a little knowledge on the subject as is glad to help in anyway he can. Try this B&B out, you won't be disappointed - we certainly weren't.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylesley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
141
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just returned from our second stay at Ayrs & Graces. A real tonic! Absolutely fabulous again! Perfect place for brilliant company, delicious food and luxury accommodation; all set in stunning surroundings. What a place to unwind and enjoy! Thanks to Rhona and Paul for your wonderful welcome, your attention to detail, all the laughs and for making our weekend so special. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfrfcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had such a wonderful stay with Rhona and Paul on our recent UK holiday. They were gracious and welcoming hosts and we felt like friends rather than paying guests in their home. The room (Robert Burns Suite) was fabulous - the bedroom was more than comfortable, the sitting room was a luxury and the bathroom was gorgeous.

Paul and Rhona are the ultimate hosts - so lovely, generous of spirit and accommodating. After welcome drinks, they booked a restaurant for us to have dinner at and their recommendation was absolutely spot on.

The breakfast, prepared by former caterer Rhona, was absolutely delicious and a wonderful start to our trip down south. We would have loved to stay another night but alas, we had to get moving!

I can't stress enough how wonderful the atmosphere is at Ayrs and Graces - it's a fabulous guesthouse in one of the prettiest areas in Scotland. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetieput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here for one night around the middle of October 2010 prior to flying off from Prestwick the following day.

The guest house was full so we stayed in the cottage which is just a few doors along from Robbie Burns house.

It has two bedrooms, is modern and was very comfortable. The only negative is that I would imagine for slightly older people it would be quite difficult to get out or into the shower/bath.

It is located across the road from a small shop and is just a 10 minute walk to brig o doon.

Would delinately recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordertown
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We found this amazing B and B in the 'Scotlandsbestbandbs' book. On arrival Rhona was waiting for us at the front door and gave us the best of warm welcomes. After our introduction we instantly knew that we had picked the perfect spot. The house is superb and views breathtaking. The Robert Burns Suite is six star. Unfortunately we didn't meet Paul but were fortunate to meet Rhona's daughter, Joanne, and her husband, Richard. We were made to feel part of the family. We had a fabulous night, they even went out of their way to embrace us as Aussies with some Australian touches of their own. We had dinner together; Rhona cooked a beautiful 3 course meal. We drank good wine, had lots of laughs and a great night was had by all. Breakfast was delicious.
Rhona and Joanne wanted us to stay another night but unfortunately our accommodation in Glasgow was already paid for. We now wish that we had stayed that extra night.
Joanne and Richard are moving to Australia soom and we look forward to cathing up with them. Perhaps we can talk Paul and Rhona into visiting them and then we will be able to catch up with them all and meet Paul. John and Tanya Payne xx
Bordertown
South Australia.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jandtpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed at Ayrs & Graces, and I can honestly say this is by far the best guest house we have ever stayed at. It gets top marks in every single category and even then I feel like I am doing them an injustice, top marks +++.
Didn't want to leave.
Rhona and Paul are just the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaywhat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

After looking on the net for a top quality place to stay I was lucky to find this wonderful B and B.The place is owned and ran by Rhona(with Paul,her husband and her equally lovely daughter Joanne)who is the best hostess you could ever wish to meet,so friendly and welcoming.

We had a three night stay in their luxury home,which has stunning countryside views,I couldn't recommend this place highly enough,the breakfast selection was huge(smoked salmon with scrambled egg,full cooked Scottish,porridge,cereals,fresh fruit etc etc)and tasted beautiful.

Thank you very much Rhona,I am sure you will be seeing us again sometime.x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernNomad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.7 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
1.3 mi away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayrs & Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayrs & Graces

Property: Ayrs & Graces
Address: High Maybole Road | Carrick Lodge, Ayr KA7 4EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ayrs & Graces 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AYRS and GRACES is Alloway, Ayr's only 5 STAR Bed and Breakfast. A Luxury, Boutique Style, Bed and Breakfast, and a haven and refuge, a million miles away from the stresses and strains of our modern frenetic world! Rhona and Paul very much look forward to perhaps warmly welcoming you to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ayrs & Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayrs & Graces Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing