We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a great location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Doonbank Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy Doonbank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Cottage
River Doon
Woodland
River Doon
Woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JKForrest...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Location on the banks of the R Doon was perfect and the cottage facilities very good. The owners, Chris and Susan, were welcoming and helpful with fresh eggs every morning and home made scones on arrival. Perfect spot for visiting Robert Burns museum/cottage and Dumfries House also; lovely beaches nearby and close to several golf courses. This is a great place for dog walking on river bank and beaches.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
148Diane
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wee magical place ”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is an absolutely gorgeous place to stay. Chris and Susan have thought of everything and the standard of decor and comfort is perfect and the setting is magical. We can't wait to visit again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin P
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a peacefull wooded haven”
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Located in Alloway and close to amenities, this beautifully converted retreat is an ideal place for those who seek to get away from the traffic and other people, yet have the benefit of communication and amenities.
We will certainly look to coming back here the next time we are in the area.
Bring your own groceries and provisions, if the hens are laying then you can have fresh eggs. There is a local village store about a mile away that has essentials plus a local pub or two.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend”
Reviewed April 24, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We found this place last minute. We were supposed to be staying in an apartment near to the Harbour for the Grand National weekend but was cancelled 8 days beforehand. I am so glad we were cancelled as this place is beautiful. The one storey house is immaculate and done to a high specification. The grounds are lovely and you have a view of the river. The owner Chris made us scones on arrival and also eggs from their chickens. He even gave us a lift to the racecourse on the Saturday for the Grand National. There are beautiful walks along the river bank and even though you are next to the owners house, you never see them. The house has its own entrance and private gardens. The village of Alloway is beautiful and you are within walking distance of the Brig O Doon pub if you fancy calling in for a meal and a drink.

We will definitely return and stay here again. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R
Ruthin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This must be one of the most beautiful cottages in an ideal location in the country.

My wife, 3 dogs an myself had a fantastic time. The cottage had everything we could need including an emergency dog box.
The dogs run themselves tired in the woods and river and could not believe their luck.
The town is beautiful with many interesting places and walks.
The people are friendly and even when one dog cut his pad the local vet could not have been more helpful.
Iin all a great holiday and a place we will return too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely thatched cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really lovely cottage with all you could wish for. The setting is amazing with lovely walks down to the river. This was a family holiday for 5 adults and the cottage was roomy enough for us all including the extended family who dropped in one evening! We were attending family wedding at the Brigadoon Hotel mid-week and the position of the cottage made for easy access to the Hotel. A beautiful setting, secluded and yet within easy access of some lovely beaches etc.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty thatched cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were glad to arrive at this pretty cottage after our long drive, it was lovely to be welcomed by you both, and what clean, dog friendly, comfortable and picturesque place it is. We had some beautiful walks down to the river bank with the dogs. Thank you for making our stay comfortable.

Mr and Mrs Munday

Value Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing