We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alinwull”
Review of The Rupee Room

The Rupee Room
Ranked #16 of 195 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Rupee Room in Ayr is situated opposite the lovely Wellington Square Gardens in the heart of Ayr Town Centre. Opened in 1999 and has established itself as one of the finest contemporary Indian Restaurants in Ayrshire.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by staff in our hotel we were not disappointed on entering we were greeted with a warm smile and shown to a nice table in the corner Kathryn our waitress could not have been any nicer very polite and helpful big faz helped with wine selection (we had an Indian shiraz ) to my great surprise very enjoyable wine starter main course and dessert all superb many Thnx to all staff and chef definitely be back 5 *all round

Thank Alinwull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Bit of a connoisseur of Indian restaurants so they have to be exceptional to receive top marks from me. Lots of options on the menu and not disappointed with our choices, service also good. Perhaps a tad unfortunate that I have recently had two fantastic gastronomic Indian experiences (in Harrogate and Berkhamsted) so I feel able give 4 stars only ..but don't be put off as that is still that is still very good and the local high reputation of the Rupee Room is well merited. Bit unfortunate too that there were very few diners on the might we visited as the Uruguay-England World Cup match was on; would imagine a nice ambiance when busy albeit the interior is more cafe style than my preferred intimate setting. The nuts and bolts are that proprietor delivers good quality fayre and he is a very chatty and personable guy. An added plus point is that there are beers on offer as well as lagers which is unusual; also, the nan bread servings are huge! Happy to recommend though on a subsequent visit to Ayr would patronise the direct competition to form a balanced judgement of the Indian offerings available in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went in this restaurant after reading a few reviews. Ordered haggis pakora between us as a starter. 2 main dishes, rice and a nan bread. Stuffed by the end of it as the food was absolutely lovely. Highly recommended, good value. Friendly staff made the experience even better. Have to visit gain sometime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Although we live locally we were visiting friends at the local holiday park Craig Tara, we phoned a carry out meal for delivery , after an hour we had to phone twice more to get the meal delivered!

When it arrived the meal was cold and there were items missing ! We phone the Rupee Room to let them know and the response was " well it is Saturday night" so obviously they do expect their customers to receive all their orders and they do not care that the food they delivered was cold!! Not a good service and in the future I would recommend everyone to try elsewhere!

I am so disappointed as I recommended this establishment to friends and it failed you deliver big time!!

And as an after thought I have a daughter who is a fussy eater and the only thing she would eat was plain nan and guess what that was one of the items that was missing!! One hungry girl

We won't be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyreepyree17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therupeeroom, Public Relations Manager at The Rupee Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We extend our apologies to you. We accept that in this particular instance, we didn't quite live up to our usual high standards. We DID omit a nan bread from your order, entirely by accident, but that is completely our fault, and you are perfectly entitled to be upset about this matter. However, we did make amends as quickly as time would permit. Our Manager personally made the second trip to the caravan site to deliver your missing item along with a complimentary bottle of wine. At that point, you were also offered the opportunity to order again the following day, at no cost to yourself, but you declined the offer, stating that you would be elsewhere by then.

Now may we address your claim that your food took too long to arrive. The timings given upon ordering are approximate, not exact. Whilst we will always endeavour to deliver your order to you in a timely manner, occasionally it becomes almost impossible to have it get to you within the time-frame specified. You placed you order on the busiest night of the week, Saturday, during the busiest time of the evening for deliveries. Unfortunately on the evening that you placed you order we were particularly busy. We apologise that you had to wait slightly longer than we originally estimated. Please bear in mind that Craig Tara caravan site is a 15 minute drive from our restaurant but we do accept that your food may have cooled slightly during transit. But to state that it was "cold" is surely an exaggeration. Your order is packaged within a box, which minimises heat loss, but sadly cannot prevent some degree of cooling.

We hope that this has clarified matters for you. We hope to see you some time again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

First time I've had a carry out from here as we usually sit in with friends. Great value at teatime as you get two poppadoms, onions, two curries, rice and a nan bread for £14.95! Delish!

2  Thank fatbobscotlandAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rupee Room also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Rupee Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing