We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem In Ayr”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem In Ayr”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed One Night In A Beautiful Room Over Looking The Front of The Hotel .
No Noise From The Road At All.
Very Happy With My Stay And Would Have No Hesitation In Recommending The Ivy To Anyone.
Hope To Repeat My Experience Again Very Soon..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2OWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    51
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
43
129
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed in The Ivy Rooms for 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer! We were greeted with a warm smile and made to feel welcome straight away. We booked a large double room at the back as we were travelling on a motorbike and wanted to keep an eye on it and boy was it a large roomit was enormous!! and the bed even bigger! the room was spotlessly clean and everything you could wish for an absolute pleasure. We ate in the resturant the same evening and again we were not dissappointed the food is more than 1st class, the service was excellent and always with a smile.We can't recommend The Ivy Rooms enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Same as the previous reviewer, I arrived at the hotel only to be told that they wanted another £50 onto the booking cost.New owners blah, blah.not accepting bookings from the previous owner etc. Obviously the new owners are not that keen on getting business or getting repeat business (this was going to be my 4th stay in a couple of years).
Needless to say I refused to pay the extra and found an alternative hotel.
I will not be going back to this rip off hotel and I would advise anyone planning to stay here to keep phoning in case they have decided that they want to take more money off you.
Disgraceful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatmorecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2010

arrived sat 22nd may with my wife and two friends having booked two rooms in feb we had email with details inc price of £45 per room per night we were told hotel had been taken over and we would have to pay £85 per room we had travelled 70 miles to ayr kooling forward to a nice weekend instead spent whole sat afternoon trying to find new hotel what a way to treat customers!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ally070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The new owner of the ivy rooms cancelled previous bookings to make more money from new customers,we booked back in Dec.through Booking.Com along with a booking for March for 4 guests.When we stayed in March we were informed the Hotel was now under new management but our booking would be honored at the price quoted but would cost more in future, this was fine but this week we received an email from booking .com to tell us this was no longer the case, the owner said we would have to pay £35 more, even after i offered to pay between the 2 prices.
Is this the way forward for the new management team fleecing the customers so watch out if you are considering spending cash at the ivy rooms be warned Scrooge is back in town.

Moira from Hamilton

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank tinytimHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill

Property: Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Address: 11 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland (Formerly The Ivy Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ayr
#6 Family Hotel in Ayr
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kylestrome Bar And Grill
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing