We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, centrally located and within walking distance of town centre. Room comfortable and had all we needed. Breakfast very good. Clean hotel with pleasant helpful staff. I heard that the food in the restaurant is very good although we ate elsewhere as we were in town for a night out. Will try the restaurant in the future and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couponuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Homeward bound from the Highlands of Scotland we decided to break our journey and stay overnight in Ayr. After ringing several B&B s with no availability we rang the Kylestrome. We managed to book the last available room and the manageress could not have been more helpful. The comfy king size bed ,modern decor, wall mounted TV, toiletries, tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits were lovely. The only minor complaints would be the bathroom was very hot, heat not adjustable, and the mirror and lighting were not over the washbasin therefore not the ideal position for shaving.
The bonus was the excellent restaurant. Very popular with the locals and visitors alike. Modern Bistro style with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The service was very good and the food superb, well presented food on Hot plates. Lots of choice we decided on Chicken Caesar salad and Tempura prawns starters, ample portions and very tasty,. Both the beef and Fish main dishes were excellent and served with a good selection of vegetables also a good selection of wines. No room for the fabulous looking desserts.
Lovely breakfast, usual fruit juice, cereals fresh fruit salad, beautifully presented followed by good choice of either full Scottish breakfast, salmon and eggs, bacon or any breakfast filling sandwich. Very enjoyable stay. Well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: King size room nice spacious bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valtona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A lovely warm welcome from a very nice mature lady at Reception, also helped out at Breakfast.
Had booked a single room but very pleasantly surprised to get a double bed. Spotless, nicely decorated, good quality bedding, delicious breakfast. Great staff, great location with its own car park to the rear which is a big bonus. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Firstly thank you to the management and staff for making our wedding special.We were up graded to a lovely room at the front of the hotel( with hardly any road noise) The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, even down to the tea/ coffee tray with shortbread(replenished daily) Our wedding lunch was fantastic, as was all the food served in the busy restaurant.very extensive menu.All the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.Once again Thank you,we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fourth time now at the Kylestrome this time it was for my husband and my joint birthday celebrations and we had fourteen friends in tow. Cannot thank the hotel staff enough, we are not the most well behaved of companies ( all in good fun I must add ) but everyone was amazing. No complaints about any of the eight rooms booked everyone happy. The pre booked evening meal was a challenge for our waitress to say the least but she was patient and good humoured and it was enjoyed by all. love the breakfast at the Kylestrome cheerful service and good quality food. Hope to book again soon (although we may have to use a different name :) ) well done to all at the Kylestrome and thanks again for a great time. !!!

Room Tip: Room 10 and room 12 are really lovely, large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was the third time I have stayed at the Kylestrom - all for business, but I would choose to use it for leisure too.

My room was well equipped, very clean, and with lovely decor. It's nice to get useful extras provided like an arm clock and a decent hairdryer (not one that just wafts some air at you!). It's also a hotel where you don't feel out of place being there on your own - even in a busy restaurant.

Food was as fantastic as ever, and well presented. Though there could be an extra vegetarian choice or two for main courses, which would top it off for me.

Staff are very friendly, professional, but not in your face. I will no doubt be back soon.

A couple of wee improvements that could be made (but really these are very minor!): The toiletries that aren't miniatures would feel nicer if they were supplied full to the brim with product, and a couple of wee biscuits on the coffee tray would be appreciated.

Room Tip: I was in room 9 this time - very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I visited last month and first impressions were good - huge room and huge bed. First thing I did was go in for a relaxing hot bath - at which point the telephone goes. We ignored it but it went again - to say there was a leak downstairs and could we stop the bath for a moment. We did this then started again - at which point there was a knock on the door to say not to run it and could we move rooms. At this point, hair dripping, the door goes again - the manager - can I have a look. Eventually we moved rooms and had a lovely meal in the restaurant - at which point the manager came over and thanked us for moving. My main complaint would be that we were only there for 1 hour and were contacted between 4 and 5 times, with not so much as a free drink offered. I find that pretty poor. Any hotel worth it's salt would have offered that at the very least. It's small things like this that make our mind up - nice - but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Just watch out for the leaks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill

Address: 11 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland (Formerly The Ivy Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ayr
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $105 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kylestrome Bar And Grill
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing