We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I want from a traditional pub”
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“Everything I want from a traditional pub”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've enjoyed the fine ales and hearty pub food at the Abbotsford Hotel a few times and come to the conclusion it's traditional bar is pretty much perfect. The hotel features in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide and as you might expect stocks a decent selection of craft beers.

Comfortable banquette seating, copper tables, tartan carpets, dark wood bar, a roaring fire on cold days and interesting bits of vintage object d'art give the Abbotsford oodles of character. There is a friendly buzz about the place and staff ineract very nicely with the locals and residents. I get the impression that nothing is too much trouble and that they value their customers. The wifi is free and completely idiot proof when it comes to signing in - thanks for that!

The bar menu is small but well balanced and reasonably priced, and the food is well presented. The place gets very busy with the after-work crowd going in for an early dinner, but there is extra space for diners in the cosy areas beyond the main bar. I've not stayed at the hotel but I can see why it's so popular with golfers and holidaymakers. At the end of a busy day there's something quite lovely about pitching up at the bar, selecting a nice pint and finding a cosy spot to sit. If I lived closer I'd definitely make a habit of it.

Recommended!

Additional info: Very large car park, a short flat walk to town, historic Alloway Village or the beach and seafront promenade. Hotel is located next to two golf courses; Belleisle and Seafield, and has a beer garden and a number of function rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford1966, Owner at Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. Hope to see you soon at The Abbotsford .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    33
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
32
41
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I were travelling Scotland and stayed a night at this hotel. The food was fantastic and the owner/chef was very helpful in giving us some tips of what to see and do. The next morning he cooked breakfast for us and came out with a pot of vegemite, which my husband thought fantastic. The locals who came in all stopped to say hello and ask about our trip. I would stay again, though not 5 star or perhaps even 3 star that doesn't count for much when it comes to experiencing the REAL people of Scotland, and take into account alot of these places are very old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford1966, Manager at Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you for your post and although you've only posted 3 stars ,you've certainly given us a great review so thanks for that . Vegemite always an option ! , See you next time, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A friend's 50th surprise birthday party at the hotel was the basis for our bed and breakfast stay. A business trip in Accra followed immediately with a drive from London, in what can only be described as torrential rain, we were met with a warm and friendly welcome by Paul, the Manager, who took our bags and showed us to our room. He gave full details of the party, and reassured us that we had time for a well needed drink at the bar before joining the other guests. Giving us the list of whiskies, ales and lagers on offer, and tales of his time in London he left us to get ready. Our room was large, cosy, clean, with comfortable beds and curtains that actually closed. We had an en suite bathroom, also clean, with fluffy towels. A very busy bar, with a great atmosphere. Large delicious portions from a varied menu served by friendly and professional staff. The Manager came to tell us that he'd received the phone call that the birthday boy was on his way, such service! The following morning we came down to a well cooked, again large portion, breakfast served by friendly staff. All triffick!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I came here on a first date to play pool and I love this hotel,it's warm and inviting. It has a very cozy feel to it,you get that calming effect when you walk through. The bar is fully stocked and the bartenders know their stuff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a quirky little hotel with interesting 'junk' around every corner. The staff, hospitality, and food were faultless, they made our large family very welcome and attended to all our needs, can't praise them enough My gripe was the room, it was very clean, with good toiletries, quality towels but the bed and linen dated. A double bed was pushed up against the wall, not great. The room was the only downfall and therefore I feel slightly overpriced, it seems all rooms are priced equally although some rooms far better, luck of the draw I guess.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend in Ayr. We were there for a friend's surprise 50th birthday party. We arrived late-ish (about 9 o'clock) on the Friday night after a very long day of work and travel (from Germany). The sight of the cosy bar and roaring real fire was just what the doctor ordered!!! Having read the previous review, I find it difficult to believe they were writing about the same place, as the welcome we received was very warm and friendly. Paul, the proprietor, whisked our bags up to our room while we enjoyed a restorative drink next to the fire.

The whole weekend was very enjoyable - Paul bent over backwards to ensure that the party went with a bang and that the birthday boy was suitably "surprised" - nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff.

The hotel itself is full of character and really quite interesting. The cosy bars have real fires, the menu is good and the rooms are clean, warm and comfortable - ours had a nicely fitted modern bathroom. For the price, this was incredibly good value. Breakfast was also a high point. I would definitely recommend the Abbotsford. Despite the previous post, I had no trouble working out who the staff were, despite the lack of name badge! This is after all, a private, family run and friendly hotel with lots of character - not a soulless chain hotel. Ayr is with in easy reach (about 2 miles), taxis and buses are easy to find and it is a good base to see the many tourist attractions in teh area (the new Burns Museum is worth a visit).

Thanks Paul for a great weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A disappointing experience from start to finish. Not the friendly scottish welcome we expected.
Room was cold, staff lacked warmth and congeniality. A definite lack of training was apparent not only in their manner but the lack of uniform and name badge made it difficult to discern staff from guests. Management, staff and decor are in dire need of a 21st century makeover. Basic limited menu with little scottish fayre available. No flexibilty re mealtimes or menu choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Property: Abbotsford Hotel
Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2ST, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing