We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit a must!”
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A friend's 50th surprise birthday party at the hotel was the basis for our bed and breakfast stay. A business trip in Accra followed immediately with a drive from London, in what can only be described as torrential rain, we were met with a warm and friendly welcome by Paul, the Manager, who took our bags and showed us to our room. He gave full details of the party, and reassured us that we had time for a well needed drink at the bar before joining the other guests. Giving us the list of whiskies, ales and lagers on offer, and tales of his time in London he left us to get ready. Our room was large, cosy, clean, with comfortable beds and curtains that actually closed. We had an en suite bathroom, also clean, with fluffy towels. A very busy bar, with a great atmosphere. Large delicious portions from a varied menu served by friendly and professional staff. The Manager came to tell us that he'd received the phone call that the birthday boy was on his way, such service! The following morning we came down to a well cooked, again large portion, breakfast served by friendly staff. All triffick!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

I came here on a first date to play pool and I love this hotel,it's warm and inviting. It has a very cozy feel to it,you get that calming effect when you walk through. The bar is fully stocked and the bartenders know their stuff.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank amyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a quirky little hotel with interesting 'junk' around every corner. The staff, hospitality, and food were faultless, they made our large family very welcome and attended to all our needs, can't praise them enough My gripe was the room, it was very clean, with good toiletries, quality towels but the bed and linen dated. A double bed was pushed up against the wall, not great. The room was the only downfall and therefore I feel slightly overpriced, it seems all rooms are priced equally although some rooms far better, luck of the draw I guess.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend in Ayr. We were there for a friend's surprise 50th birthday party. We arrived late-ish (about 9 o'clock) on the Friday night after a very long day of work and travel (from Germany). The sight of the cosy bar and roaring real fire was just what the doctor ordered!!! Having read the previous review, I find it difficult to believe they were writing about the same place, as the welcome we received was very warm and friendly. Paul, the proprietor, whisked our bags up to our room while we enjoyed a restorative drink next to the fire.

The whole weekend was very enjoyable - Paul bent over backwards to ensure that the party went with a bang and that the birthday boy was suitably "surprised" - nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff.

The hotel itself is full of character and really quite interesting. The cosy bars have real fires, the menu is good and the rooms are clean, warm and comfortable - ours had a nicely fitted modern bathroom. For the price, this was incredibly good value. Breakfast was also a high point. I would definitely recommend the Abbotsford. Despite the previous post, I had no trouble working out who the staff were, despite the lack of name badge! This is after all, a private, family run and friendly hotel with lots of character - not a soulless chain hotel. Ayr is with in easy reach (about 2 miles), taxis and buses are easy to find and it is a good base to see the many tourist attractions in teh area (the new Burns Museum is worth a visit).

Thanks Paul for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A disappointing experience from start to finish. Not the friendly scottish welcome we expected.
Room was cold, staff lacked warmth and congeniality. A definite lack of training was apparent not only in their manner but the lack of uniform and name badge made it difficult to discern staff from guests. Management, staff and decor are in dire need of a 21st century makeover. Basic limited menu with little scottish fayre available. No flexibilty re mealtimes or menu choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 20 month old daughter for 2 nights. The hotel is filled with quirky antiques and other interesting things. The house is a typical victorian house and has a very old charm. Our room was very comfortable and we were very happy to learn that our baby monitor worked in all the social areas of the hotel so when she went for a nap we could go for a pint in thre bar whilst still keeping an eye on her! The facilities were quite good. Our room was a very good size and sufficiently dark for our girl to have a good rest and the lighting was very good as well. We slept warm and comfortable. I liked the interesting books in the room. The decor in the hotel is quite eclectic...almost like staying in a very interesting antiques shop... the place certainly has hisory. Above all, the experience of staying at this hotel is made great by the people who work in it. This is a family run hotel, and you can see that the people working there are very passionate about what they do and they really will do their best to make sure you have a good stay. An example of this was that when I needed my baby to have a morning nap...the hotel staff was so helpful and really tried their best not to be loud during a time when they were busy cleaning and preparing the rooms. Breakfast was very delicious and coffee was perfect. Thanks to the manager of the hotel who was so friendly and made us feel very welcome as well! We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top will be the quietest, but if you want your baby monitor to work, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canopus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My family came over from Canada and renewed there wedding vows here. Food was excellent as was venue and the service. What a great night thanks to the management and staff. Highly recommended. Hotel situated in a nice area very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2ST, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing