We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular visitor here since 1976” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Regular visitor here since 1976”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been coming here on and off for nearly 37 years!!
Been a family run hotel all that time.

Most recent was with my brother Arnie.
Good beer, fine atmosphere, a proper pub and also fine restaurant and venue.
Also from time to time stayed in the hotel.
Great place and long overdue the 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    32
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
32
40
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Celebrated my 'hauf- hunner' (50th birthday) in style last weekend at the Abbotsford. The venue was perfect - despite the unseasonable rain, the function room was light, airy and summery due to the huge atrium type roof. The eclectic mix of paraphernalia around the original parts of the room is a fascinating talking point in itself.

The manager, Pau Hunter, provided advice and organisation which was spot on and nothing was too much trouble for his friendly, efficient staff. He even provided some noisy, screamer balloons which kids of all ages enjoyed firing randomly round the room, breaking the ice quickly and getting the party buzzing from the start.

My 100 or so guests raved about the food - there was plenty of it and none of it left at the end! (Actually some very latecomers went through and had dinner before we left the hotel - apparently that was excellent too. )

The prosecco Paul recommended was great and the bill at the end of the party certainly wasn't excessive for the food, drink and service we had received. Although there was another function on after ours, the staff were very tactful about moving us through to the hall, where we enjoyed another few drinks before finally moving on.

I haven't stayed here but we did get a look at the rooms when we were booking the function and each one was spotless and quirkily individual - much more interesting than the characterless rooms of most hotels these days.

I thought my party was perfect, and my guests were well impressed with the entire event. I will know where to go the next time I am organising any type of celebration! Thanks, Paul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piglit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 10th & 11th May. Room was lovely, very spacious - very clean. En-suite also very clean and well stocked with toiletries etc. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Arrived too late for our meal on the Friday night and received a large plate of lovely sandwiches and large bowl of chips delivered to our room. Ate in the hotel on Saturday night and the food was delicious. Plenty parking. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been frequenting this family run business for over 30 years now and it hasn't changed at all in character, which the locals love. Very busy with tourists and golf parties during the summer months and food and accommodation excellent. I have recommended this to friends who have come up from England to stay over as the rooms are very clean, comfortable and homely. We eat there regularly and haven't had a bad meal yet. Staff are extremely pleasant and friendly - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after leaving very disappointing accommodation elsewhere in Ayr.
Staff went out of their way to help us here.
We spent 4 nights as a family in 3 adjacent rooms.
Rooms were immaculate, beds very comfortable and bathrooms very clean, which was a great relief after previous place!
Hotel has a very homely, relaxed atmosphere with a Scottish theme in main rooms.
We were very sorry to leave this morning!
Can't wait to get back again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rr960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Ayr Ice Hockey Legends dinner with over a hundred diners held here again as last year a great success. Everybody easily served with hot food. Staff attentive but not intrusive. Bar staff made sure all had sufficiency in very pleasant surroundings. We will return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestwickGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everyone was so kind, tried to offer me breakfast even though I had missed the window...I also forgot my hair straightener in the room, and the staff kindly posted it to me after I phoned, refusing money, insisting that I donate to charity instead. Room was comfy, if a little on the cold side. But the friendliness more than made up for any weakness with the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randomshrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Property: Abbotsford Hotel
Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2ST, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing