We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling MD who needs reliable hotels to stay in.”
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel on numerous occasions and it has always been a very pleasant stay, the staff are courteous and friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy and a suitable room temperature to sleep in. I have eaten at the hotel when I have stayed there and the food has always been of a good quality. Since staying there I have been made very welcome by both staff and locals alike, I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

On a busy trip, I looked forward to a rest on my final night (22nd October) at the peaceful and interesting Abbotsford Hotel. Friendly welcome, log fire, tasty meals and a very good night's sleep. I think I shall stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

As a tour operator I chose this hotel as a lunch stop for 26 french green keepers.
I dealt with Paul who was very friendly and helpful especially as he had less than 24 hours notice to cope with a group of this size.
However cope he did and most admirably.
The French were so impressed with the food and the place that they gave him some French wine that thye had brought over as gifts to the various courses they were visiting.
I cannot comment on the rooms as I have not stayed there but the food is good and the welcome warm, and you can't ask more than that....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rooms are cold and poorly equipped, bed sheets stained & toilet was dirty.
Staff especially bar staff are rude and unhelpful. Food very poor and not very hot.
Plenty of better hotels in Ayr just don't stay here!!! You have been warned

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sectretariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Hotel is in a nice location and is a lovely old building with loads of interesting memorabilia and paintings
However most of the business is confined to the front of the Hotel which is around 30 percent of the whole building. Therefore the bar is small and the dining room even smaller
Like a lot of hotels I guess that the other facilities are only opened up for weddings and receptions
The service and the food were alright
The room was cold and not very big
This was not good value for what we were offered and what we expected

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayEmploymentEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here to attend a wedding reception in another hotel. Even though we only stayed one night (wish it was more) our experience was great from the moment we arrived until we left. Pleasant and cosy surroundings, friendly and efficient staff, lovely room, great food at reasonable prices, generally a place I would be happy to recommend. We live not too far away and would certainly come here again even if it was just to eat. A good sign too when a place is popular with the locals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Abbotsford with my bother and father. Paul, the proprietor, had phoned around on our behalf and booked early tee times at Belleisle and Troon Fullarton which were both very enjoyable courses.

The hotel was perfect for us with lots of atmosphere, immaculately clean (which must be some work with all the quirky curios and that fill the place!), great food and very attentive staff. So much more fun than a hotel chain. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
245 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2ST, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing