We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #15 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay! The room I had was roomy and well decorated and quite comfortable. I was impressed that the room had among other amenities a small electric fan. Though Ayr doesn't usually get warm enough to use one it's good to have in the room. The entire hotel was very clean. The breakfast was cooked to order by a lovely lady who made me feel right at home. The Manageress was also very friendly and very approachable. The lounge area had a very large TV (the rooms had smaller ones) and a stereo. I will definately stay here again when I return to Ayr. By the Sea is a clean friendly place to stay where I feel welcome!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsamymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Amy

Thank you for your positive review.
We hope to see you again if you are visiting colleagues in Ayr.
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine and Vanessa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
49
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This B&B was so lovely. We were in Room 6 on the ground floor, so the easiest of access for late nights (we attended a wedding reception in Alloway during our stay in Ayr) and was spacious enough for the two of us. Tasteful decor, extremely comfortable bed, very very clean, superb power shower and complimentary toiletries (which we didn't need to use) and a welcome tray with Tea, Coffee etc. The little touches of toiletries and biscuits with the Tea etc really mean a lot in terms of making a B&B more like home. The communal area was well equipped for cosy nights with huge screen TV, HiFi and comfy couches. The breakfast area was clean and bright.....and believe me when I say that the choices you could have at breakfast were endless.
If I return to Ayr, I will definitley return to bythesea, as the hospitality was fantastic and for a 4 star B&B like this, the rates are unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee04121981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Bythesea.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic time at the wedding. The Brig O' Doon is an excellent venue.
We would love to welcome you both again!

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Beautifully finished throughout and with comfy beds, this place was a real find. Lovely B&B with a great breakfast - perfect if you're staying close the night before a ferry crossing. We stayed in room 3 - it was comfy, had a good ensuite and was a good size. It was very windy when we were there - bit of a draught from the windows, but not really an issue when the curtains were pulled. Would heartily recommend this place to anyone staying in Ayr. Now if the town could just scrap their ridiculous voucher parking system...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Bythesea.Your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Julie and Wilson McIlwaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here while attending a wedding nearby. We called the evening before to find out if we could check in early (around noon) and they were happy for us to do that. We stayed in the attic room, which was lovely. The room wasn't huge, but it was beautifully furnished with a really comfy bed with lots of nice cushions. The bathroom was small but very clean and toiletries were provided (a nice bonus in a B&B). Cooked breakfast the following morning was really good, although you had to pick what you wanted to have the day before. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Great location for Ayr town centre, beach etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MhoMho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bythesea.

When guests are attending weddings we do our utmost to ensure they can have early access to their rooms so they can get ready.

We have recently up- graded our en-suites to a new luxury brand of toiletries and we are getting really good feedback on this.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Was a nice enough place to stay but did not like the fact that there was no one to meet us when we arrived. Had to telephone the owner before we got in. We had the attic room which was ok but shower on the small side. No room for our own toiletries. Breakfast was lovely and enough for us.Our stay was nice but would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferguson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Unfortunately I was picking family up from Prestwick Airport when you arrived at the Guest House. If we have to 'go out' we have procedures in place so our guests can get direct access to their rooms. We did try to contact you prior to your arrival but unfortunately we couldn't get a hold of you and I do remember apologising on the phone that we were not there when you arrived and that i would see you both within the hour.
With regards to the lack of facilities we have installed new bathroom cabinets in all our en-suites.We listen carefully to our customers and try to improve our business to meet ther individual needs where possible.
We are disappointed your stay was not to your expectations and would love to welcome you back to see if we could perhaps change your mind about Bythesea!

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

What a gem of a place.!! We were very impressed. Our twin room was in the attic. Not massive, but very comfortable. Tastefully decorated, as were the public rooms. Large bathroom with enclosed shower. Toiletries were provided, also lovely clean fluffy towels. Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Terrific breakfast. Something to suit all tastes. This has to be the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in, and puts some of the bigger hotels to shame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassimocoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed 3 nights in this B&B. Good location - close to the seaside but also close to Ayr town centre. I was initially a bit worried when I read other reviews that this place would be full of screaming kids (sorry, don't like kids, don't want to be surrounded by them on holiday) but the place was very quiet. Nice room, clean, very good breakfast (good choice and a lot to eat). I'd stay there again if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamasingletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing