We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ByTheSea Guesthouse, Ayr”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #15 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We decided on a family holiday near the sea, so we booked a 3 day trip to Ayr and picked ByThe Sea Guesthouse based on previous reviews recorded. Our experiences as a family were first rate and I would not hesitate to recommend this guesthouse as it exceeded our expectations. The rooms are stylish, the proprietors are make so feel welcome, at breakfast there is a intimate feeling, as if all the guests know you by their acknowledgement. In terms of cleanliness, again to a high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTHONY186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel and would highly rate it to other travellers. The hotel is spotless and very well kept with a lovely guest lounge and outdoor area. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and its cooked fresh to order. The staff were great.
If I return to Ayr I will definitely stay here again and will check for availability and arrange my stay accordingly.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3 I adult, two children, great room, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie01Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location within walking distance to the town centre and the beach, Very well decorated and clean room, but a bit on the small side( i was in room 5), ok for 1 but would have been a bit crowded with 2. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice. Free wifi was good and the shortcake was delicious!!! Only down side was having to ring the hotel when i was stood outside with my case as the door was locked and sign in the window, luckily the owners were there within 30 seconds, so was ok. Would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aworthington99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 (including a 19 month old little girl) stayed here having travelled north from Leeds to attend a friends wedding. The bride and groom had recommended this guest house and it easily met the expectations. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming and relaxed and the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The room was impeccably clean and extremely comfortable and also offered all the important appliances/luxuries like hairdryer, tv, kettle, iron (with board), shower gels, not to mention generous supplies of coffee, biscuits and toffee. The breakfast was lovely with a wide range of cooked or cold options available, all served with a smile and well presented. The communal lounge was also v relaxing and comfortable. Parents thinking of coming here with kids might also like to know the cots/bedding were of high quality and high chairs were available. We used the opportunity to walk along the coast at Ayr the day before the wedding and the morning of it, and both times we were taken aback by the natural beauty of the area. Overall, if we came back to Ayr we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHammerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Also stayed for a couple of nights in May and had a very comfortable stay, room at the top was
fairly small but not too small to feel uncomfortable. The bed was big and we slept like logs, everything clean and tidy with lovely decor. The breakfasts were awesome (thanks Julie) with plenty of choice for everyone. Brilliant stay and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismac045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Bythesea for a couple of nights in May and we had a very pleasant stay. The twin room we had was small but perfectly formed - the space was utilised very well. The décor is modern - some B&B's can be a little shabby, but not this one. It is very well kept, clean and tidy. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious - not rushed at all and the staff were helpful and friendly. The Guest House is a short walk from the sea and the main town, so it was an ideal base for us to explore Ayr although the weather was a little iffy, but nothing could be done about that! The mainline station is close by, so was quick and easy for us to get to after our long journey from Kent. We thought it was excellent value for money and we really can't think of anything negative to say about it - don't hesitate to pay Bythesea a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great little bed and breakfast hotel sited very close to the seaside and the local ammonites of the town of Ayr.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our requests.
As a family group we occupied the three double rooms on the first floor and each of them was well appointed, warm and spotlessly clean. There is also alight and airy lounge on the ground floor in which to sit with a book.
The breakfast was well presented and plentiful served by very attentive and friendly staff.
I couldn't fault this hotel and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.8 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing