We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #13 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay!

Loved this B&B and would reccomend anyone who visits Ayr to stay here.

Rooms were bright and modern, lots of attention to detail. Loved the basket in the cupboard which had a little hairdryer, wee straighteners etc. The toiletries provided were also of a high standard.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely, and service was very friendly.

5* B&B for 3* prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicflo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here recently with a group of 8 friends and have to say it was great from start to finish. I stayed in a single room (room 2) on the top floor and the room was bright, modern, clean and had everything you could possibly want for your stay. There was a great attention to detail in what was provided and the bed was extremely comfy. The street was very quiet during the day and at night, and therefore I had no trouble sleeping. The breakfast choice was very good and everything was cooked to perfection. There was a large lounge for guests use, which our group made good use of. The B&B is in an excellent location for the beach, shopping, bars, restaurants, etc and we were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and made us all feel very welcome.

I would definitely recommend this B&B and would stay there again as part of a group or as a family/couple. If you are ever in Ayr, this is one i would definitely put on my list..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoAmolItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

stayed unexpectedly while motorcycling in the area.
Allowed us to park bikes in the yard.
great fresh cook breakfast, I recommend the kippers!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putoguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 nights stay at bythesea. What a wonderful bed and breakfast. Our welcome as we arrived was warm and friendly and this hospitality continued right throughout our stay. The B&B is a short walk from the town centre, which offers a great choice of bars, pubs and restaurants and is even a shorter walk to the beach front. The rooms are lovely and clean, offer all you need for a nice stay - hairdryer, iron, hair straightners, tea and coffee making facilities and lovely biscuits. We were very comfortable in Room 4 which had both a single bed and a double bed with a nice spacious bathroom. The breakfast in this B&B was amazing with a great choice of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, follows by a hearty Scottish breakfast with a full plate full of whatever you fancy. We have not been home long and have already decided we are booking again tonight for April. If you visit Ayr, you should stay at this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trigger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just spent the night in what can only be described as a superb B&B in Ayr. The room was extremely comfortable with little touches that are indicative of a desire to ensure that guests have a pleasurable experience. Breakfast was amazing, there was no need for food before evening. For the price paid, Bythesea was exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Room 3 on the first floor (which is a family room) looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I grew up by the sea in Wellington, New Zealand and I believe nothing revives you more than a good deep breath of salty sea air in your lungs. By the sea B&B offers this in unlimited quantities, just one street back from the beachfront and you couldn't find a friendlier host than Julie. I stayed in room number 2 on the second floor and was spoilt for space but the thing that grabbed me most was the lovely outlook from the bedroom window. I was woken by sun streaming in and birds tweeting, the perfect way to end a comfortable nights sleep.

Breakfast started with a variety of fresh melon, good strong coffee and a cooked breakfast that puts the Irish fry to shame. The eggs were perfection on a plate and the dining area was set up nicely so you had a chance to chat to other guests if you wished. The common lounge area is a real bonus as many b&b's don't offer this feature. The hardest bit about staying here was getting on my bike and leaving!

Highly recommended and only a short work into the main village. If you go to the pub twa dugs, make sure to try the locally produced Jolly Beggar Ale and finish it off with fish n chips from Dino's across the road - plus you can sit and eat your supper in the park opposite with Robbie Burns to keep you company.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor in room 2, if you don't mind climbing stairs the outlook is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Indiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Indiana June

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Bythesea and it was great to meet a relative of the great 'Rabbie Burns'. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels round the world and are not too tierd with all the cycling and activities you have been doing. Wishing you every success with your future travels.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed in room 2 in the attic. Clean, well equipped but small with a very low angled ceiling. Any one on one side of the bed risks a headache if they sit up ! Also the desk is unusable due to ceiling height and we banged heads on the bathroom door. No mention of this low ceiling on the website. Other issues, the sheet didn't fit the bed which isn't great, you had to boil the kettle on the floor. All staff very friendly except one older lady who was very offhand when we asked for a sheet to fit the bed. It's a shame, great place let down by small problems. Wouldn't stay again unless could be guaranteed not to stay in room 2!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulg1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Paul
We are so sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. Unfortunately we didn't find out any of this until you reviewed us. Regarding the sloping ceiling in one of our attic rooms we have never had any previous complaints but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are disappointed you felt unable to discuss this with us as it could have been easily resolved by moving you to another room on the first floor or ground floor.
I can only apologise for the staff member who dealt with your request and this matter will be discussed with them as customer service is very important to us.
The kettle in the room should not have been on the floor to boil we have a table for it to sit on many apologies for this.
Should you wish to visit us again please contact me direct and i will ensure you do not have room 2 again!

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
555 reviews
0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $68 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing