We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off - £40 to print 8 sheets of paper!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip Off - £40 to print 8 sheets of paper!”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

After a flight cancellation we booked 4 rooms in this hotel as it is close to Glasgow Prestwick Airport. The hotel demanded that we pay £40 for them to print out 8 boarding cards for our group from one PDF file. We were shocked at this rip off but the staff would not budge insisting it was hotel policy. We had no choice but to pay them as it was too late to make alternative arrangements as we were late arriving at the hotel after travelling from Edinburgh. Also the staff were most unhelpful in setting up our internet usage. The Hotel itself was fine and cheap enough, but we would never stay there again due to the poor service by the staff and the rip off involving the boarding cards.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franceslord, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you mentioned we do offer the service of printing boarding passes which is charged at £5 per pass. If printed at the airport the cost is significantly more. Other guests who use this service are happy with the charge as overall it saves them time and money.
We are sorry that you did not find this service satisfactory. We have discussed the matter with the staff concerned and expressed your views to them.
We thank you for your custom and hope that you would still consider staying at our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Frances lord
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    205
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
177
287
24
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banffshire
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Clean and comportable rooms, the reception staff couldn't do enough for us & I would like to mention Allana & Michael in particular.
Would definitly stay there again but the only small problem for me was, if you are wheat-free in your diet, nothing on the snack menu in the evening is possible to eat.
There are plenty of eating places around though so it was only a small niggle.
Very pleased otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiraBanffshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A typical Holiday Inn Express with the usual high standards you might expect. Great staff, nice breakfast, which has a hot option and is in with the price!

Evening eating options limited , unless you are prepred to drive, with only one establishment within walking distance and even that was some distance away down the isolated side road to the hotel and then accross a very busy main road. HOWEVER, the staff will supply you with the details of various "take aways" who will deliver to the hotel, and will even lend you a plate and cutlery, how good is that for service!!!

Will use this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAHNorthEastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Dear JAHNorthEastEngland
Thanks very much for your recent review of your stay at Ayr. We appreciate your comments with regard to food and as you have experienced the staff will always try to guide you in the right direction for restaurants or take away food brought into the hotel. Glad that you appreciate ther new breakfast format including the hot option.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ayr again and if you are in the east of Scotland why not try our sister hotel, The Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Kind Regards
Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at this lovely hotel with my partner, From start to finish our stay was first class with friendly professional staff especially the gem Michael what a asset for the hotel could not have been more helpful will defenently be back 10/10

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flirtyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franceslord, Public Relations Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyed our hotel. I will certainly pass your comments on to Michael and I know he will be very pleased to have had such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Friendl,y efficient staff on reception. Gave helpful advice and promply arranged taxis to our family wedding. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable and fresh and the room had everything you need for a short stay. However, breakfast was a very poor experience. We arrved at 10 to find that every single table was dirty, customers were milling around queuing for cereal and tiny croissants as everything else was empty. No toast, jam, hot foods, knives or forks and a broken toaster. When scrambled egg did arrive we then had to eat it with a spoon. Then we had the sausage course. When we spoke to the duty manager he said that they were an economy hotel and that this was an acceptable standard. He believed that they had enough staff-even though the female waitress was run off her feet-but thatbeing an Express, they only had one cooker which slows everything down. He then went into the kitchen and told off the exhausted kitchen staff. I wouldl pay extra to stay elsewhere in future. After such a good stay, I am left with a rather poor last impression.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlissGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I was quite surprised at how nice this hotel is. The staff were very professional, with 24 hour reception. It is obviously very new but it was extremely clean. The room was a great size with a small sofa and a very nice bathroom - again very clean. The breakfast was fine, quite basic and totally self service, felt a little like a canteen. A nice touch I appreciated was having a free newspaper in the morning in the breakfasting area.
I did not use the internet, but I think you need to pay for it in the rooms however it is free in the main reception/lounge area

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I worried about the pet hair problem, especially as I had to phone to reserve a room as the website wanted to charge me £15 for a pet I didn't have, with no obvious way to delete the pet incidental charge..
Most non pet owners find the idea of animals in a bedroom a bit yukky so they maybe should have seperate rooms for those who like to sleep with their animals.
Our room was very clean though, no sign of pet hair and not at all smelly.
We had a 6am plane to catch and the guy on night duty was very helpful and a large selection of breakfast stuff including freshly brewed coffee was available at 4.30.
Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
857 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing