We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very clean and welcoming"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I would just like to say, our visit was made particularly welcoming, by all of the staff, but one person stood out from the rest, and that was a guy called Jamie he had such a pleasant personality, he made us feel very relaxed and welcome, not only to our party but on observation was very chatty to the other customers, will go far.
Alan E. & JB

Room Tip: You can rely on staff for help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. What a fantastic review, we are very proud of our team members because they show a real commitment to delivering brilliant service to our guests. I was particularly pleased to read your lovely comments with regards to Jamie; I will personally thank our team members on your behalf. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 737 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2014

Appears to be a new build. surprisingly quiet location. Excellent reception staff. Especially as we had to provisionally book another night as there was some doubt our ferry would sail due to the adverse weather. He couldn't have been more helpful. We had booked the meal package for convenience and we weren't disappointed. A nice modern setting with a menu and service to match. An excellent meal. Breakfast was good - though the buffet style cooked brakfast is not what we have experienced in previous Premier Inn stays & I have to say was not as good as it could be. No supplies regularly & a 20 minute wait for scrambled egg. I much prefer the option to order & have it cooked for me. Nevertheless it was a great stay with great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. I was pleased to read your kind comments with regards to our reception team and that they advised you about our fantastic Meal Deal options. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed you meal in our Thyme Restaurant. I was however disappointed to read your comments with regards to our Breakfast service. I have passed your feedback onto our Food and Beverage Manager who asks that I convey her apologies for any disappointment caused. I am grad that this did not mar an otherwise enjoyable stay. Once again thank you very much for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were checked in quickly and efficiently by a very pleasant member of staff. He explained the meal deal and booked us a table for dinner. The room was as expected from a Premier Inn, but very quiet considering it was so close to the main road. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows available. Dinner in the Thyme restaurant on site was very good value. Again the staff were very helpful and cheerful. They looked as if they enjoyed their jobs. The hard surfaces in the restaurant did make it a little noisy, but it was the buzz of happy people. Next morning, David explained the breakfast in detail including items that could be ordered in addition to the buffet. There was a wide choice of items on the buffet, so none could leave hungry! There was even a notice saying that you could have soya milk if required. The quality of the breakfast was much better than some 4/5 star hotels. Check-out was quick. would stay here if in the area again and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. I was delighted to read your kind comments with regards to our team members and I will pass them on to everyone. We believe that a great start to a day begins with an all you can eat Premier Inn Breakfast. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast and that you felt it was better than some 4/5 star hotels. We love when a guest takes the time to share their feedback with regards to our hotel but even better is that a valued guest would recommend our hotel to other people. I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very clean modern rooms.Staff very helpful.
Location is a mile from the Racecourse and 2.5 miles from town.
Very quiet Hotel.Plenty of parking and blue badge spaces.
Ayr is ideal for touring.
Visit Largs,Irvine,Troon.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. I was delighted to read that you found our team members to be both helpful and accommodating. We all work hard to ensure that every guest feels welcome and it is fantastic to receive a review from a guest confirming this. Once again thank you for the kind review and Haste Ye Back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Excellent service and very helpful and accommodating staff.We had a group of 15 of mixed ages from 13-57 and each and everyone of them was made to feel welcome and comfortable.
Hotel was new, clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. I was delighted to read that you found our team members to be both helpful and accommodating. We all work hard to ensure that every guest feels welcome and valued and it is fantastic to receive a review from a guest confirming this. Once again thank you for the kind review and Haste Ye Back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This Premier Inn is the forth one I have visited and it came up to the same high standard as the others. The building had been previously owned by two other hotel chains however this did not detract from the usual facilities provided by Premier Inns. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view over to the Isle of Arran. The staff were excellent, on reception was Korbyn a very friendly and efficient young lady. The food was the usual high standard and in the restaurant we were served by Kayrn David and Jamie, all very helpful. A good place to stay for touring Ayreshire

Room Tip: High rooms looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. I was delighted to read that we matched the other three Premier Inn Hotels you have visited. I would like to personally thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. I have printed off your review and personally thanked the team on your behalf. We are ideally located off the A77 for touring around the many fabulous and famous Ayrshire attractions. Once again thank you for your kind comments and Haste Ye Back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We've stayed at Premier Inns throughout the UK for many years and whilst we've been satisfied with most, the Premier Inn at Ayr takes "the gold medal." The exceptional service at the reception, bar as well as the restaurant was matched by the high quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 338deAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Premier Inn Ayr A77 Racecourse. What a fantastic review, our team members have a passion for delivering great service to ensure that every guest leaves feeling brilliant. It is therefore most gratifying to read that we have achieved our goals. I have posted your review on our team notice board so that everyone in our team can take pride in providing such exceptional service. Once again thank you for such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing