We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean with walk in shower!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed her for one night (July 2nd 2013) and were really pleased with the service and standard of the hotel. It's very modern and contemporary and everything was extremely clean and new. The best feature was the walk-in-showers...i'm sure there are lots of people who do enjoy a bath but this is the first Premier Inn that we have stayed at that has done away with the bath with the shower over it. If you are on the petite side then climbing in/out of those baths to have a shower was quite hard work so this stand alone shower (which was large) was a god send. Although the bathroom in general was on the small side, they had really made good use of every bit of space by having a corner sink (see pics). I wish every Premier Inn would upgrade solely to showers, much more user friendly and if you still feel the need to have a bath....wait until you get home!!
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and the food was good with ample choice. The beds & pillows were utter bliss and we all had a great night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Comfortable modern clean hotel, with friendly staff and good service. Breakfast was very good.Not very central for town if you don't have your own transport, though taxis are readilly available. Would stay again.





  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our second stay at a premier in in exactly a week, the result could not be more different! Last week Liverpool this week Ayr. This is a very modern new hotel and the rooms are everything you would expect from a Premier Inn, however basic checks were not made on the shower room, the hose to the shower head was leaking badly and the soap dispenser was not working at all. A previous user of the shower had very long hair as was evident by the hair on the shower floor and the fact that the shower would not drain away properly due to hair blockage. Last week we ate in an attached Beefeater which we found difficult to fault this week we ate in the in house Thyme Restaurant. It is difficult to believe that these two establishments are run by the same company. The staff whilst fairly willing and pleasant seemed somewhat harassed which was perplexing as the restaurant was very quiet. the food was served with little if any flair and not good value for the cost. We had a bottle of Pinot Grigio Rose which was exactly the same as that we drank in Liverpool but in this restaurant it was £1.50 per bottle more expensive, is this Whitbread taking advantage of people in locations where they have little if any competition?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDC288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After a long day's driving this was just what we needed - comfortable, clean and no problems at all. The restaurant served good food and the rooms were very well appointed. The service was efficient, friendly and overall to a very high standard. And all for only £25!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've stayed in quite a few Premier Inns but this was our first stay in one of the more modern ones. The rooms are slightly smaller than the Premier Inns we were used to, but the bathroom more than made up for it.

Room was clean, comfortable. The same member of staff checked us in and out, and he was very friendly.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Brilliant in every way - except we cannot understand how soup can be off the menu for three nights running! Would not deter us frrom staying again if in the area though, as facilities are outstanding for a budget hotel, and staff are outstanding for ANY hotel! This one is the very best Premier Inn we've been to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Terrible food, rude staff, had to wait for over an hour for my meal bill, only half the menu available. Ive stayed in Premiers all over the country and this one has to be the worst!

The price of the room was unbelievable, probably because I booked last minute but £50 more expensive than Edinburgh City Centre the week before!

O well lesson learnt, sleeping in the car would have been a better option.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing