We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A day at the races” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A day at the races”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

we have stayed at many premier inns but the staff here have to be the friendliest we have met . The hotel was clean with 1st class food & we would recommend you consider the meal deal which includes your breakfast the following morning . The only negative is if you are allocated room 318 as this is directly opposite the lift & can be quite noisey .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    170
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
147
239
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from a weekend staying here and could not fault the staff for friendliness and helpfulness. Nothing was too much bother for them. The room was clean and spacious the shower was a proper one and no climbing into baths to get to it. The food in the restaurant was lovely and they had an excellent deal on for 3 course dinner and breakfast. There is a Frankie and Bennys a 2 minute walk away. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeygee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such lovely comments about your weekend stay at Premier Inn AyrA77/Racecourse. I am delighted that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your meal in our Thyme Restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the team here at Ayr and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fochabers,moray
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean premier inn,although I find that they all are.Nice sized room with everything you would need in it and a restaurant and bar downstairs beside reception. Had evening meal,which was lovely,the only one thing negative I would say is that we waited quite a while for the meal. Couldn't say anything about breakfast as we were still full up from the night before so didnt have. Very nice staff,friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank loopylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcudbright
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel to save travelling between laser eye surgery and check up the next day. It was easy to find. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpfull, the room was clean and comfortable and despite being very close to the road it was surprisingly quiet. The onsite restaurant was a godsend, food was delicious and staff brilliant. Premier in might be more expensive than travlelodge but it is soo worth it! I'll be staying again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weesleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

First time staying in a premier inn and was very impressed. Hotel and room were clean and the staff were very helpful and kind. The restaurant was good too and wasn't that expensive either. No faults with this hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, all staff were friendly and made our stay a great experience. We stayed here to go to the races and will definatley stay again. We phoned to check if we could check in early as the races started quite early, thanks to Donna who I spoke to on the phone, this was no problem. This meant we could enjoy our day fully. The room, as was the hotel was spotless. I have stayed in a lot of premier inn's and this was by far the best. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portavogie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having previously used Travel Lodge for weekends away to watch rugby and visit family in Ayr I can definitely say after using the Premier Inn for the first time I will never use Travel Lodge again! Rooms were very clean, staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the overall calue for money was excellent! Well done Premier Inn, for a budget hotel you offer luxury!

Room Tip: book on line early for the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 19 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 19 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing