We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
West of Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Even better!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during its previous incarnation as a Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed it immensely. We were worried that standards might have changed with new ownership but I am delighted to say that we were delighted with what we found. Of course the brighter Holiday Inn décor has been replaced by Premier Inn's dark purples which is acceptable and accentuates the warm welcome. And speaking of warm welcomes, the young lady (dark hair) who was on duty was charming. efficient and kind and without doubt an asset to this company.

The room although not as capacious as other Premier Inns was spotless. The bathroom was gleaming and the bedding and beds were exemplary. On my last visit, I expressed dismay at the appalling TV facilities but this time I was delighted to see brand new Samsung TVs with full Freeview service. Another good feature is that the TVs are, 'governed' to a certain volume level so as to reduced disturbance to fellow guests. Quite a good idea really.

One caution I would offer is that you should not fully close your window because internal ventilation is very poor and you might as I did, wake up during the night gasping for air! The heating system works beautifully (once we got the hang of it). You might also find external noise to be annoying. Boy racers and large trucks regularly hammer past but then, none of this is the fault of the hotel and I'm certain that you would be given a room at the back of the hotel on request.

We didn't eat in the hotel so really cannot comment on the quality but there is a retail park 100 yards down the road with an abundance of food joints. Ayr itself has plenty of excellent restaurants catering to most tastes.

We didn't take breakfast because we felt that at near £9 it was rather too expensive despite the 'all you can eat'. We chose to have a Tesco breakfast which cost half the price.

We paid £29 which was a bargain in anyone's terms. If you are able to book at least a month in advance, Premier Inn almost always offers bargains like this. The regular price of £84 is laughable and anyone who willingly pays this to stay in a budget hotel in the West of Scotland is either desperate or daft!

Finally, be aware that this hotel is quite far from the centre of Ayr and just as far from the Racecourse. Walking would not be an option and I did not see any local buses or bus stops nearby. I think it should have been called, 'Ayr South' because suggesting it is near the Racecourse is an exaggeration to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    211
    69
    18
    13
See reviews for
184
297
25
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here, 13/9, 16/9 and 17/9. Rooms very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Bar area basic but ok for a couple of drinks. Didn't eat here so can't comment on food. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thought we should have a break away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We opted to choose a premier Inn that we had not stayed in before. After booking a meal deal we were left dissapointed. Dont know how long we had to wait between courses but i know we were overall 2 hours from start to finish. My vegetarian option was inedible and had to be returned to the kitchen where we had an unsatisfactory explaination from the kitchen staff. I was very hungry by this time and finished by having a plate of chips as I did not want to wait any longer!!!
The hotel itself was its usual high standard of cleanliness. The staff were freindly and helpful.
There was only a shower in the room no bath. The handle fell off the window when we closed the curtains and to top it off we were asked to evacuate the building when the fire alarm was raised. It has not put us off returning to Premier Inns, however maybe give this one a chance to get over their possible teething problems!!

Room Tip: find out where the stairs are
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holibags1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rarely have we had to write a review such as this for a Premier Inn but here goes anyway.Stayed for two nights recently for a short break. This was the only hotel we could find within reach of our planned area, but on reflection wished we had looked a little harder! The hotel was obviously formerly a Holiday Inn revamped in the Premier Inn style - comfortable,clean and modern. But if you wish for a peaceful night sleep don't accept a third floor room. Ours had the constant drone of some sort of machine on the roof above us and the bathroom fan just would not turn off with or without the key card in situ. The car park around the back is a bit inconvenient as there is no designated walkway round to the front and the lighting was not switched on at all - an oversite according to reception and she has to park there too! Restaurant was a bit of a shambles. We had to wait for half an hour for a table as there was a private party booked in- no problem- that came when we ordered our meal. It didn't come after twenty minutes waiting and we were told on enquiring that there was none left! Great, so we ordered a distinctly bland and unappetising lasagne which came with only a choice of one side -salad, garlic bread or chips - not impressed at all. Maybe they are having teething troubles with a whole new restaurant and staff or just incompetent ???

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindylooCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

not had a great time off late but had a very enjoyable rest at this hotel everything was great wish we could have stayed a bit longer but will definitely return soon the hotel has just changed hands recently didnt have dinner there as we were eating at a friends but the menu looked interesting too much choice but we did have fab breakfast in the morning and had a look around the hotel very colourful and a very secure car park staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: near the main rd but had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here when we attended a wedding in Ayr. Perfect that we were on the outskirts and close to the Ayr by-pass. Excellent sized rooms and fantastic bathroom. Shame other Premier Inns don't have same bathrooms. First time had the buffet breakfast which is a bit expensive. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was the first time I'd stayed at a Premier Inn and I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting nothing much to be premier about it. The rooms are adequate with a comfortable bed, the only downside is the window will only open an inch and apparently this is to stop you jumping out but really its not that bad to drive you to do such a thing. Staff were very friendly and surprisingly helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide choice and constantly topped up. Slight downside is its in the middle of nowhere so you need a car to drive into town. Slightly irritating is the refurb banging starts around 8.30 and workmen seem to have full access to all rooms which is worrying when you carry expensive equipment for work. All in not bad

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
878 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing