We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Booked at the last minute, very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful, all in all a great stay thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B, Deputy Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments that you posted on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ronaidh MacGowan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    207
    67
    17
    12
See reviews for
179
295
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just back from a weekend away with my friends and family at the horse racing and I'm glad we chose the holiday inn! The staff where friendly and very welcoming, the hotel itself was clean and well maintened! It's a bit out of Ayr but we didn't mind that! All in all in was a great stay and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed one night before flying out of Prestwick, very impressed.

Met by very friendly staff on desk on arrival. Very nice room (for the price, £39).

Breakfast was a fabulous buffet for the price we paid, very surprised by this.

Would definately use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Way in to car park is poorly signposted. Once there, staff were very helful and pleasant, and room standard was as expected for the type of hotel, clean but basic. The main problem was the room temperature. I like a cool bedroom, but that was ridiculous. Ended up sleeping in my joggies and socks! The small radiator under the window lost all the heat behind the curtains, and no heat at all reached the bathroom end of the room. If I stay here again it will only be in summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmahatfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
wilmahatfit,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.
I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst visiting family in Ayr. We chose this hotel for its location and price and were not disappointed with either.the reception areas and bedroom
were clean and fresh From the reception team to the cheery housekeepers the staff were very friendly and welcoming, Hugh on reception was there on check in and check out and was extremely efficient and pleasant
Will definitely stay again on next trip to Ayr.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Missty96
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with Holiday Inn Express Ayr.
It was great to read that you found the hotel to be clean and fresh and that the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to see your family. Once again many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Kind Regards
Janice Baird
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the night before flying out from Prestwick Airport.
We took a taxi from the Prestwick train station (about £7 to get us to the hotel); beware the taxi rank is not at the station but in the town centre, but that was just a few steps away really.
We arrived late at the hotel and even though we did not advise of our late arrival, they welcomed us very nicely.
The hotel is located outside Prestwick and Ayr, and is in a commercial/industrial zone, which was fine as it meant the area was really quiet at night.
The room was a standard Holiday Inn Express room but everything you would need to spend a good night's sleep (comfy bed, soft and firm pillows (you choose), a flat screen TV and spacious bathroom). There was no air-conditioning (which was really fine for us, not too keen on it), but the heating was performing just like you would expect, so no complaint about the temperature of the room.
What made our stay really nice was the staff. Angus, the night porter, checked us in, and even though we were leaving really early the morning after (5am), he was kind enough to have the breakfast buffet ready so that we (and another guest) could have something to eat before flying out. We truly appreciated that!
Breakfast is included in the price by the way; continental breakfast, buffet style with croissants, yoghurts, juices, hot drinks (coffee, hot chocolate, tea), toasts, fruit salad, fruit; I think there is more within opening hours of the breakfast room: scrambled eggs and so on.
He also booked us a taxi to the airport, so thank you Angus!
Just for information, a taxi from the hotel to the airport is about £9 and it takes about 10 minutes if there is not any traffic.
Would definitely recommend the hotel for a value stay or a stop-over. The hotel may not be 5 star but the staff was! :-)

Room Tip: We add a room with a sofa, to book it ask for the double room with sofabed. It is very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
I will certainly pass on your lovely compliments to the team here, who work hard to ensure each customer has an enjoyable stay.
Once again thank you, as I do appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express Ayr.
Kind Regards
Janice Baird
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Although local to this hotel my husband and I decided instead of paying for a taxi home from Ayr to stay the night. We managed to get a very good rate, which is always good! The hotel is very clean and modern. Staff were extremely pleasant and couldn't do more to help. The room was probably the nicest Holiday Inn we have stayed in, the only minor downside I would say it that when we checked in the room was freezing!! We put the heater on before leaving to go out and on return the room was a more cosy temperature - still not as warm as I would have liked, my socks stayed on!! Breakfast was very nice, particularly since the hotel does not have a restaurant as such. I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if you are deliberating over whetehr to stay here or the nearby Travel Lodge.

Room Tip: Pack your fleecy pyjamas if you are staying during the winter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Premier Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing