We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
e mids
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Booked on arrival direct with reception. The receptionist was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. In no time at all we were inside our warm family room having a cuppa. The room was very clean and had a choice of pillows. Bed was comfortable with nice clean linen.... bed seemed more comfy than some 5star hotels we've stayed in.
Tea & coffee facilities in the room, good towels and nice Dove toiletries in the bathroom. Shower was great.
Very happy with the overall cleanliness of the room, bathroom and hotel in general.

We were on the top floor..with a very distant view of the sea. Happy to see a lift was available, having just stayed in another hotel where cases needed lugging up a flight of stairs.

We needed help later to make up the sofabed. Extremely helpful lady arrived immediately and got the job done.

Plenty of room to park, it didn't bother us that there were car garages in the surrounding area. If you want to stay on a country estate, this isn't the hotel for you, but we were very happy with the location and price.

The hotel has a welcoming entrance, plenty of seating and good facilities.

Breakfast was good, although the sausages were a little 'tough', but everything else excellent.

We were very happy with our stay and check-out quick and simple too.
All staff we encountered were great!

Frankie and Benny's within walking distance.

Well done, we will stay again if visiting the area & would recommend to others. Though next time we would appreciate some sunshine instead of heavy rain and gales!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    205
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
177
287
24
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel just for an overnighter after a shopping trip, had two children with me, hotel spotless, staff very friendly and helpful, got me phone numbers for cinema etc...breakfast was quoted as continental but scramble egg, sausage n beans for those that wanted it in addition to lots of other choice, hotel quiet despite being near busy roads n near airport, only slight criticism, settee bed for kids was a bit uncomfortable but well worth the money we paid and would defo stay again.

Room Tip: our room was on front facing car park but no noise whatsoeva not even from the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula47_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Staff in this hotel are all so attentive and nothing is too much trouble. A lovely Hotel, You can order your food in from various takeaways chinese/indian, You can eat in their dining area or in your room, We left this hotel at 4.30am and the buffet breakfast was already set up, A change from Hotels that ignore a request for an early breakfast. This hotel is definatetly one I will use again, Free WI FI A Bonus

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

High standard, as I have come to expect from numerous stays at Holiday inn express. Clean hotel, good standard of accomodation, attentive staff and near a Frankie and Bennys. Everything you need for a perfect break.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdcd1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh,Illinois
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Friendly staff and clean rooms.
Good; the staff were always very helpful and quick to respond to any questions or requests, i.e. iron/ironing board, taxi’s etc. Breakfast’s included, internet was not free, but at only 2 pounds for 24hrs I’m not complaining, especially after paying Marriott 29 euros for 24hrs for years. Rooms are clean and average in size no problem for a single occupant or two if you don’t spend all day in the room. Work area is large enough.
Bad; Not centrally located enough to walk someplace to dine, but taxi’s are cheap, 12 pounds round trip to Elliot’s Pub.
Bottom line; would I stay there again, yes

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdc3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The lady on Reception, called Allana could not have been any more helpful or pleasant. The hotel is clean and the rooms are a good size. Frankie and Bennys restaurant is only a few hundred yards away too. Possibly the worst thing is for a first time visit is finding the entrance !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here to visit family re a forthcoming wedding in the area. It is one of the newest HIE's. We love going to Ayr so decided to give it a try. It is a very nice hotel the same standard of the rest of them, it is like coming home. Trying to find it was a different story despite satnav. You can see it from the motorway but the roundabout you have to manouevre is deadly. We were cut up twice and when we made it to the hotel I was informed that locals go a mile out of their way to avoid it! I shall be looking for another route in if I go back. Be aware that although it is in Ayr it is on the perimeter a long way from the town centre, there are buses but if you walked it would take at least an hour.

Room Tip: The rooms are all identical to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing