We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice wee gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were coming back from our holidays and since the flight was coming in a midnight we booked a nearby hotel just for somewhere to stay before heading back home.

We weren't expecting much just a bed for the night but we got so much more. Even though we checked in at around half 12 in the morning the chap behind the counter couldn't be nicer to us. The room had an interesting shape but was warm and comfortable. the light in the headboard a nice touch. We both had a great night sleep.

Great shower in the morning, the water pressure was great unlike some places i have stayed. The breakfast was really nice with a decent selection.

On check out the staff could do any more to help.

We really enjoyed our night here and we definately go back

thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Hi Lee2411

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent short stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Ayr. We do say that our team are on hand 24/7 and glad that you found a warm welcome when you arrived after your flight home.
We are glad that the hotel met and exceeded your expectations and hope that you will find the time to visit us again in the future. Our sister hotel in Dundee offers the same high standard of accommodation, so if you ever have the need when visiting the East coast we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 710 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

After my disastrous experience with the Holiday Inn Express, Poole last year, I was understandably apprehensive of staying at another HIE hotel. My fears were very quickly unfounded as I drove up to this impressive looking hotel.

Check-in was smooth, efficient and friendly. Our room was standard Holiday Inn Express design with the usual high corporate cleanliness and service standards and, unlike my previous HIE visit elsewhere, our room was unoccupied upon entry!!!

The evening snack service was satisfactory and sufficed for our needs.

Overall, this HIE made me trust the hotel chain again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Hi Dave JC

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Ayr. We are delighted that our hotel met with all your expectations and also that it has restored your confidence in the brand . Obviously all the hotels are run under separate farnchises and are subject to rigourous audits and as part of that process we continuously monitor our performance by a variety of means and one important one being our customer reviews, both in-house and on trip advisor. It is dissapointing that your previous experience didn't live up to your expectations. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future, whether that is here at Ayr or in our sister hotel in Dundee.

Kind Regards

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Friendly receptionist, well equipped rooms good early breakfast Value for moneyas well. That’s what you needed before flying with kids. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthTravelMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

First stayed in this hotel when myself and my partner were travelling back from holiday. Unfortuently our flights got cancelled as it was the time of the air strike.
The staff one girl in particular Allana was very helpful and helped us get a room for the next time we came. We come often as we stay on the isle of Arran and it is fantastic value for money, close to the town we never had a car so had to taxi everywhere. The rooms are brilliant if your just away for the night you can watch tv or rent a film, my partner went down to get two pints of cola at one point and because it was after hours they has to do a £30 card transaction and then pay the money in the morning it was a bit strange but everyone has a policy and rules you have to stick too.
We recently stayed over a few months ago and there was a very grumpy man on the reception desk I didn't Catch his name. My mum came to pick myself and m partner up with her car but she needed a token to get back out, so she went to the reception and as she approached the desk he went into the back office, she then waited and he eventually appeared then she said she was pickin up some of his guests and she needed a token he have her one with the words of 'here' she was very taken aback, I didn't know my mum had got a token so I also asked for one ' she got one' with a annoyed face. The other staff have also been very welcoming and charming and smiling apart from this gentleman.
Also Please watch you toast in the morning fire alarm going off at 9ish when your wanting a lie innisn't very nice haha

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannaroxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels regularly and this stay was disappointing, mainly due to the service and quality of the breakfast.
Warm welcome when we arrived at midnight, the location is ideal for Prestwick Airport.
The usual choice of pillows in the room was not available, and only 2 pillows on the bed.
The room was immaculately clean, as usual which was good.
At breakfast we were not the only couple that complained. For starters, there were 2 slices of bread available, no sausages, no pastries and apple juice which was like water (see pictures). (breakfast was not busy and we were down 45 minutes before breakfast was due to finish)
The yogurt I chose was out of date! No staff around the breakfast area so I took it to reception, the receptionist then checked the other yogurts.
The table next to us asked for more pastries and sausages, so they did eventually appear.
Two tables queried the apple juice, and again the receptionist changed the apple juice over.
I asked for ketchup and was told that it would be next to the hot food counter...it wasn't. The member of staff then apologised by saying 'the girl that's on this morning is hopeless'...I think he was referring to the waitress who was rarely about.
After breakfast we went to reception to ask for a shower cap, there was one woman in front of us. We waited approximately 5 minutes...still no receptionist. The woman in front of us gave up and went into the lift. A member of staff eventually arrived - at breakfast/check-out time, surely there should be someone on the reception desk?
On check out the receptionist asked for payment, even though we had pre-paid on our priority card account online. She did apologise when she realised her mistake.
She did ask if we had enjoyed our stay and I let her know we had been disappointed and handed over the questionnaire we had filled out in the room.
No reply, despite full contact details being on the form.
Very disappointed.
This will not put me off staying in other Express by Holiday Inn as we have not had experiences like this elsewhere, but I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linseyjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Hi Linseyjx

Can I firstly apologise for not responding to your review left last month on Trip Advisor.
We rely upon customer reviews greatly to help us monitor our team performance at the hotel. For some reason your review was not automatically forwarded to my inbox last month hence the reason for no reply. There were a number of staff shortages last month due to illness which may have had an impact upon the service which we were operating on the morning of your stay. We realise that this is no comfort to you as a regular user of the brand and would expect better. We have reviewed the issue and have now altered our staffing profile in order to be able to accomodate issues such as this in the future, without compromising our service.

We would hope that you would give the hotel a second chance and will look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We have just enjoyed an excellent stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and efficient, they made us feel right at home and they did all they could to make our stay comfortable. Full marks to them and they are without doubt an asset to the company. The wee blonde girl had us in stitches with her good sense of humour.

The room was scrupulously clean in terms of the furnishings and bedding. The shower room was a of good size and there were sufficient towels. A nice touch is the offer to provide any requisites like toothpaste etc., free of charge on request.

The room itself was on the small side but more than adequate for two people. There was a large desk/table complete with lamp and a large chair. The lighting in the room was ok and the blue, 'night light' in the bathroom was a great help when making those nocturnal trips to the toilet in the dark.

We could find no wireless internet connection but as we brought our own, it didn't matter. In any case, anyone who pays over £5.00 per hour for it needs their head looked!

You might be wondering why I have not given this otherwise superb accommodation 5 stars and my answer would simple, the TV service was abyssmal. There was a nice, up to date Philips flatscreen TV but my oh my, what dreadful reception. There were only twelve ropey channels available that were obviously coming from a distribution system geared to providing pay to view movies and adult features. In a budget hotel 15 years ago this would have the norm but in 2011 it is lamentable and UNACCEPTABLE. Even the smallest boarding houses have televisions that provide over 35 channels on the Freeview Digital Terrestrial service. The channels on this system were in the main sourced from poor analogue transmissions and three lousy psuedo digital things that included Sky1. At least they gave us BBC News and not the excreble Sky News. The picture quality was the sort you might have found in 1953.

Quite obviously something should be done about this, it would cost virtually nothing to provide customers with at least the basic Freeview digital service like Premier Inn, Travelodge and other budget hotels do.

Ok, television is not the be all and end all of a hotel stay but when you are in a hotel that is at least 3 miles from the town centre, you really do want something to watch and not some relic from the 1990s with poor picture quality and a pathetic lineup of channels.

In conclusion, it was an enjoyable stay with really good value and standard of service from well-trained and well-motivated staff. As I was leaving, I noticed a sign on the wall that said that the room rate for people dropping in off the street is £82.00 or so. Take my advice, get on your laptop and book it on line. We paid only £39.00 and I feel that is just about right in this current climate. For £82.00 I'd want Marriott style:)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Hi "Roomless"
Firstly can I thank you for the review you posted recently regarding your saty at the Express by Holiday Inn Ayr. We are delighted that 90% of your stay met with all your expectations . We are dissapointed though about the fact that the performance of the television infrastructure in the Hotel wasn't up to the standard you would expect.
The good news is that just this week as part of the hotels preparation for re-branding to change within the next few weeks to Holiday Inn Express, the infrastructure has now all been updated to digital as we have previously been using analogue as you rightly pointed out. We have installed a new head end to the system which will allow for an expansion on the number of available channels over the forseeable future.

Can I thank you once again for your review and hope that you will return to The Holiday Inn Express in Ayr sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards

France Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

my husband and i needed to get away for a rest for a few days, so booked into the express by holiday inn, in ayr.... From the moment we arrived the staff especially heather made us feel so welcome, treated you as if you were a regular at the hotel.The room was very modern and very clean and comfortable. it had everything you needed for your stay.. The breakfast was cooked fresh and enough there for you to have. My husband was wanting to watch a football game that was on, so the manager put the game on for him and also let us bring a indian carry out into meal and supplied us with plates and cutlery. would come back the next time i need a break.. thank you to all the staff...
mr and mrs paterson

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djpat1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel

Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $58 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The going's always good at the Premier Inn Hotel Ayr/A77 Racecourse. With great road, rail and air links, you'll be living it up or getting down to business in no time. Back a winner at the home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Gold Cup. Zip into Glasgow to see the sights. Get into the swing at some of the country's most famous and historic golf courses: Royal Troon and Turnberry. And when all the racing around is done, return to our friendly team, spacious rooms and super-comfy beds. Directions: From the North - join the M8 (signposted Greenock, Glasgow Airport, Kilmarnock). Leave the M8 at Junction 22, then join the M77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport). Continue forward onto the A77 (signposted Kilmarnock, Prestwick Airport, Ayr, Stranraer). At Dutch House roundabout take the 1st exit onto A77 (signposted Ayr, Stranraer). At Whitletts roundabout take 4th exit onto Heathfield Road (signposted B743, Prestwick). Stay in right hand lane and turn right at the first set of traffic lights just after car showrooms onto Wheatpark Road then take 1st right onto Whearpark Place. Hotel entrance is straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing