We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts who cant do enough for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
Ranked #32 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2014

myself and 5 friends have stayed at this bed & breakfast the past 2 year while golfing in & around ayr, its very well situated and graeme & anne cant do enough for you while your there guests. the rooms are clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thanks you so much for your positive review. Graeme & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Spotting Ayr on my map on my business trip through Scotland and along the coast line of Scotland I felt lucky. Booking my stay at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr a bit late I couldn't be more happier. I found a beautiful house and Bed & Breakfast, Ann und Graeme are running. Although I booked very spontaneously I felt very welcome. The door was always open and I always felt independent, the room was beautifully made (with tea and coffee, TV, with a beautiful view and warm), my own bathroom equiped and for breakfast I could choose between different options for breakfast, continental breakfast, full Scottish breakfast. No one else than Ann and Graeme could have been better tour guides. I could listen to Ayr's history (go and see the writer's Robert Burn's birth place!), the best restaurants around that offer a variety of healthy food, the quiet and at the same time wild coast line, the Ayrshire Coastal Path. If you're looking for a place to discover Scotland and its people and you find people like Ann and Graeme you're lucky. The morning I left very early a delicious breakfast bag was waiting for me instead of having breakfast in the house.

Room Tip: My room was excellent and my view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

It was lovely having you stay at our B&B. Thank you so much for your review which is really appreciated. Graeme & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a home from home experience, I've stayed here several times and never been disappointed in anyway. The hosts, Ann and Graeme are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about all the facilities and features of the area. The rooms are of a good size and have all the facilities expected in a well run establishment, including tea, coffee and biscuits, everything is spotlessly clean and well appointed, most rooms have en-suite bathrooms. A great Scottish breakfast is served at your convenience and very centrally located for the attractions in Ayr city centre. I would highly recommend Chalmers Guest House anytime you wish to visit the coastal town of Ayr.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review. It was lovely having you stay with us. Ann and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This B and B was situated less than 10 minutes walk from the town and sea, on a quiet main road with beautiful buildings all along it.

There was an en suite built in to the room which meant the rooms were slightly smaller than expected. The beds were clean and comfy and there were tea and coffee facilities. We had a view over the garden and surrounding houses.

A small negative was that the room was incredibly hot during the night (however, much better than too cold!).

We did not stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our B&B. Ann and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

2nd time staying here - Stayed for 4 nights. Really good service. Quiet area. Owners are very pleasant and helpful as per last time. 5 minutes away from city. Breakfasts was good and they now offer to bring breakfasts up to your room if you give them time. I would recommend to this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. Ann and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and a friend stayed at this bed and breakfast on a recent trip to Ayr. He said it was faultless. He couldn't praise the owners or the place any higher. The owners are very pleasant and the breakfast very filling. The location was great for where they wanted to go and not far from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountyDurhamJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Ann and I thank you for your review which we really appreciate. Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were spending the day shopping and going for a meal at night for my wife's birthday. What a great wee B&B close Ayr town centre, Graham greeted us with a cheery welcome and we felt we had known him for years after just 10 minutes in his company. After being shown the room he got us a guide for local eateries etc. The room was clean & cosy and a lovely breakfast was served with a smile. We found this B&B faultless and would certainly return again, therefore recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagsfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting such a positive review which is very much appreciated. Ann & Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
219 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.2 mi away
Grange View B&B
Grange View B&B
#12 of 52 in Ayr
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr

Address: 34 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $61 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken over in April 2017 by Jen and Mark, Chalmers B&B is a family owned beautiful Victorian townhouse located one mile from Ayr town centre on the Ayrshire coast, Scotland. Ideal for shopping breaks and very close to great pubs and restaurants. Chalmers is within 30 minutes of some of the best golf courses in the world including Turnberry, Old Prestwick, Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Kilmarncock Barassie, Dundonald Links (Loch Lomond), Glasgow Gailes & Irvine Bogside. Part of the family includes our small dog Mylo who is fluffy and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing