We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Ayr India

Ayr India
Ranked #18 of 186 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ayr India Restaurant In Ayr is well established and prides itself on quality authentic Indian cuisine and has the enviable position of having 2 beautiful restaurants in the heart of the seaside town.The long established Sea front restaurant, which is open daily from 4pm and more recently the restaurant in Alloway Place which is open for lunch as well as evening meals.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good value take away, nice food, tandoori mixed grill was huge, be warned garlic naan is very garlicky.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LPKLPKLPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    64
    27
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“shocking”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Oh dear... where do I start, clearly the other reviews have never experienced a truly delicious curry?? We come from the west midlands and even one of the worst curry houses in brum, would have kicked the butts of this place..
We stayed in Ayr for a couple of days for business and decided to try here on the back of the recent reviews. We arrived to what looked like some tatty old balti house in a backstreet of Bradford. But before I begin about the food, can I just say the staff are well dressed and very pleasant. But there it ends, this place is ripping people off big style!!! Starters onion bharji dry over spiced and tasted like dough pats... I had veg biryani small amount of rice with a hand full of peas hardly any onions no egg, it had two tiny bits of cauliflower and a small slice of potatoes cut in half and the sauce tasted like something out of a packet, my husband has a chicken dish, he said the chicken tasted dry and burnt thick gloopy dull sauce, the peswari naan had the oddest colour in the center of it?? We have at least one curry out each week at different indian restaurants around Solihull , Warwick , Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham. We would love the owner to come with us for a real curry experience. Great views but what a huge disappointment with the food. I am a well travelled person, both here and abroad and a senior reviewer, so please do take these comments seriously.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food lovely view”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Vert tasty food and really friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it! Complimentary drink given at the end of the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mmacm358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slightly pricey but exquisite food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went here on my honeymoon, my husband has a firend from Ayr who recommended it but didn't really give us any more directions than 'on the beach near an ice cream place'. We had to walk quite length of beach to find it with such imprecise directions! but I'm glad we did. The place was clean and airy, waiters really polite and welcoming, food heavenly, really really good, just a shade more expensive than I usually pay but worth it, and it was lovely to be looking out on the beach while we ate.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice indian food with english tadka”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love the place specially the sea view is mesmerizing great food Sardarji the restaurant owner is a good person and checks every guest personally over all a very good experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kapilsingh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayr India also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Ayr India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing