We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A belated return visit”

Vito's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Ayr train station only 100metres away.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A belated return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Being local, we have been aware of Vito's Italian Restaurant for some time and although we have tried it a couple of times it has not been, up to now, one of our regular haunts. However, before recently visiting the cinema, which is just across the square, we decided on the spur of the moment to pop in for an early supper. How glad we were that we did venture back in, as the welcome was warm and the food was excellent and good value for money. One comment though on the decor — both the ground and first floors are in a smart coffee shop /restaurant style which is in itself fine but we could not help thinking as we looked out over Burns Square on a breezy and darkening autumn night how much more of a cosy atmosphere could be created if the decor, particularly on the first floor, was in a traditional Italian theme. Hey ho, we can dream on but in the mean time we will take Vito's as it is and we will definitely not leave it as long again before we return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    119
    42
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service with a real personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been visiting Vito's regularly for a couple of years and I thought I'd write a review having just dipped my toe in the water on Tripadvisor. The food is always great, good value fresh recipes for pasta and pizza and the best fish & chips in Ayr, and the kids are always really excited when we tell them we're going there for dinner. What really sets it apart though is the service. There are a long term team of staff and management who really care for their guests. We have 2 kids and the youngest has a learning difficulty, and whenever we book the staff recognise the name and make sure we get a table upstairs where he can watch the cars and buses go by. It might seem like a little thing, but it really means a lot to us and allows us to relax knowing he's happy. We love it and always go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayrtraveller0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quite a dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reserving online we were greeted kindly at reception and was taken upstairs, at which point 3 staff were quibbling together about the reserved table and advised 'just take that one'. Food presentation and taste was very good, we had ordered a side of fries and decided we wanted another during our sitting. We waited around 5 minutes and over-seen another table receiving their main course along with a side of fries at which they seemed surprised about, we further waited another 5 minutes and received chip shop chips from the neighboring fish house (chunky chips with distinct smell and taste of fried fish), nothing was said, they were just placed on the table. The restaurant could do with cutting out some tables, we found ourselves having to move a little to let staff past and hearing a 'sorry, scuse me' in our ears every few minutes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok food for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food is good value for money if you play it safe and go for a pizza or burger. Staff were friendly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, nice informal atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to Vito's for a family celebration meal, and received a warm welcome upon arrival.

The place was busy (which is usually a good sign). Although it calls itself a restaurant, it feels more like a diner. It has a casual atmosphere, and has wall-mounter TVs showing live sport.

All the food was reasonably priced, well cooked and delicious. All of our party enjoyed what they ordered.

I had crostini to start. I was served with three beautifully presented and delicious crostinis. They would not have looked out of place in Master Chef. For my main, I ordered veal. Again it was beautifully cooked and delicious. I rounded my meal off with Millionaire Shortbread Ice Cream, which was fantastic.

I would go back to Vito's again.

Helpful?
Thank lappins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Vito's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing