We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it”
Review of Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I like it”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a night here as part of a coach tour. Give the Honeymoon Suite - excellent room, very comfortable modern four-poster bed. The view was of the river weir in full spate, very noisy and secondary double-glazing did little to reduce it. The room was very warm although the heating appeared to be off, and due to the noisy river we were unable to open it for ventilation. The staff were very good as were the meals. Other tour members commented that they had the same conditions. That said I wouldn't hesitate to visit again when the river is in normal flow.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    113
    69
    62
    39
See reviews for
69
90
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at the watermill on 3 occasions over the past few months and I have found it to be very comfortable accomodation with friendly and helpful staff. Ok it could do with a bit of an update to the decor, but when the bed is comfortable, the food is well cooked and reasonably priced and the staff attentive, then it is easy to overlook the fact that the paint could do with a touch up.

I would much rather stay here than in one of the bigger chain hotels that may be pristine but have no unique features or character.

I will be back and would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_mac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked through the internet, very easily. Just a £7 taxi trip from glasgow airport. A 10 min walk aside a beautiful river takes you to the train station and 15 mins later you are in the centre of glasgow for less than a fiver.
The hotel inside looks a little shabby and tired but the features of the old mill, the building and the view of the river are great.
The price including Full English, cannot be called scottish as no porridge or haggis! was cheaper than the budget hotels and the staff are great, would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a private function, birthday party at the weekend in the new extension which is very modern and picturesque. Upon ordering our first round of drinks, we were handed warm bottles of beer as the fridge hadn't been stocked prior to the event. The bar staff were questioned as to why they were not prepared given the advance notice of the function and their reply was one that couldn't care less.

Later in the evening I ordered champagne (most expensive one from the wine list) and was handed a warm bottle. I asked for a chilled bottle to be told there was none. I asked for an ice bucket to be told that the restaurant were using them. It was then me who asked for a beer bucket of sorts to chill the bottle rather than staff trying to rectify the issue.

As it was my birthday I spoke to all my guests who complained of the warm bottled drinks issue, so much so that most folk had to find an alternative drink that was cold.

This event was booked by my wife many months ago, I find it hard to believe that a hotel could not sort out something so basic as getting cold drinks prepared for a function.

A few of my family members stayed at the hotel and made comment on the bedrooms being dated and certainly not worth the price paid.

Breakfast in the morning was not worth the visit.

If you are considering a function at this hotel then the function room is very nice, modern and fresh however the bar issue was a significant let down for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dwilsoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The floors were so squeaky that we could hear the people above us and they served as a wakeup call because of it since the frint staff neglected to give us one even though I requested one. It must have been a pretty hotel years ago but the whole place looks exhausted and worn out. We used this as a place to be close to the Glasgow Airport but stay at Holiday Inn, instead.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, I dont belive there is any positive tips I can offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paisley hotels

Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overpriced for what you got, the room was extremely basic, a bit cold, no duvets only blankets, the window was needing painting and the decor was very dated. The shower was tepid and very slow and the shower tray was quite stained. The worst problem though was the extremely loud creaky floorboards in the room upstairs which jolted me awake on two nights running as the guests in those rooms were apparently-on two days running- catching early flights from Glasgow airport. I was woken at 3am on both nights and the racket of floorboards, footsteps and voices did not stop for 3 hours. I wrote and complained about this but did not receive a reply. I really think the room should have only cost about £30 as it was so dire. I actually paid £52 per night but had hardly any sleep in that time! Never again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Clare,

Thanking for reviewing us, although I am very disappointed that you have opted for this.

I have been trying to get hold of you and has left you three voice messages but unfortunately you have not returned my call.

I am sorry to hear that you were cold but had you mentioned this at the time, we could have offered you an extra blanket/duvet or even give you a heater. Our central heating has been off as it has been warm and lovely and most guests found it uncomfortable when the heating was on. However as the weather has changed in the last few days, the heating is back on!

We do ask our guests to be considerate of others by keeping noise to the minimum but as you may appreciate, we cannot control what goes on behind locked doors!

I do appreciate that you have taken your time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here the night before a stay in hospital and the location is good in relation to the train station (10 min walk - probably less if you know what way you are going unlike me!) it was also cheap to get a taxi from here to the hospital.
The room we stayed in was clean and ok. Two single beds, a telly, big mirror, dressing table and chair, bedside table, tea and coffee facility's, nice en-suite bathroom (shower was a bit powerless though)
Never had breakfast so couldn't comment on that. The member of staff we were served by was nice enough too.
To be fair this hotel is fine but is missing some wow factor, there's nothing great to comment on and for this reason I would look for somewhere else for my next stay.
Although like I said there is nothing wrong here it's just a bit bland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclaffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mclaffz,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

We do appreciate the positives you have mentioned about the hotel, and at the same time disappointed that you will be staying again!

We do advertise the hotel as a 3 star, and to be fair, that is what we charge our guests for.

Should you change your mind, you are more than welcome to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.4 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Hotel

Property: Watermill Hotel
Address: 1 Lonend, Paisley PA1 1SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Paisley and on the site of a 17th century Flour Mill The watermill Hotel preserves some of the original character and features of the Mill inside and out of the building.49 en suite bedrooms with freeview TV and views overloking the hamills river or paisley abbey and the historic town of Paisley. We have a restaurant and lounge bar on site along with a new built extension for holding functions upto 140 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing