We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a great venue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleniffer Hotel

Gleniffer Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleniffer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Paisley B&B and Inns
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost a great venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently held our wedding reception at The Gleniffer Hotel and would like to say it was a perfect evening but unfortunately this would be untrue.On arriving to help set up for the evening we found that every table cover was either badly stained or holed and had to ask to have them changed.The general condition of the Function Suite was shabby to say the least but with a little care and attention it could be very nice.The staff were very helpful and pleasant apart from the so called Events Manager who spent the whole evening treating ourselves and our guests with utter contempt.I cannot believe this man has grasped the concept of Hospitality. We had arranged for him to supply a buffet which was served on dirty tablecloths and plates which were dusty and had remains of dried food on them.Despite his best efforts the evening was a success although our guests all remarked on his behaviour.This could be a great venue if the cleanliness was improved and a proper Events Manager employed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RMCRA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I recently attended a family and friends reunion and stayed overnight. The manageress pulled out all the stops to help with the arrangements. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The cleanliness was second to none. The bedrooms had just had a makeover and were very comfortable, the shower room modern and tasteful. Breakfast was served in the lounge area and a great choice was offered. For the prices charged, it was excellent value and I'd certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranger054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at around 2pm to find the hotel locked up and deserted. We rang bell and were eventually let in after about a 5 minute wait. We went back downstairs a couple of hours later to go out to find reception deserted again and door locked so had to ring bell on reception and wait for someone to arrive to unlock the door to be let out of the hotel (not sure how this conforms to safety regulations!) Our return to the hotel later that evening was similar: rang the bell several times and waited outside 10+ minutes for someone to arrive to let us in. We were informed that the bar was closed and that we would not be able to get a drink despite there being several people in the public bar which remained noisy and audible from our room for some time after our return.

Breakfast could have been good with cereal, fruit juice and yoghurt available but the 'full' English breakfast consisted of one sausage, one small rasher of bacon, one cherry tomato, black pudding, a soggy hash brown and potato cake literally swimming in grease.

On the positive side, the rooms are clean and have been refurbished nicely but the standard of food and service in no way match up to the quality of the refubishments.

The impression gained was that this hotel caters mainly for functions and many of the problems which we encountered would not have been apparent had we been stop-over guests on such an occasion. Outside of this however, it would appear to be badly organised and staffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunadoncella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paisley hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at the Gleniffer Hotel after attending an engagement party in the same hotel. There is no denying that the hotel is very basic, but it is immaculately clean and for £35pppn for a single en suite room inc cooked breakfast it is not to be missed if you are needing a room for a night. My only gripes would be that there was no shower (bath), no hairdryer and no shampoo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clyde1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
1.4 mi away
Watermill Hotel
Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Paisley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Paisley) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleniffer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleniffer Hotel

Property: Gleniffer Hotel
Address: 9 Glenburn Road, Paisley PA2 8TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleniffer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gleniffer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleniffer Hotel Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing