We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and host”
Review of Muirholme B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muirholme B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Paisley B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and host”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Muirholme B&B this past summer (August). Francesca was the most gracious host. The location is perfect for visiting Glasgow. It was very easy to walk to the train station just a couple of blocks away and board the train into the city center. The location is also convenient to the airport. The B&B common areas and bedrooms are beautifully decorated. We felt very comfortable staying with Francesca in her home. We hope to return in the future. We highly recommend for anyone traveling to Glasgow and surrounding area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 overlooking back yard. It was quiet and spacious. Also it had a large en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WSBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently visited Paisley to participate at the Royal National Mod, and have no hesitation in recommending Muirholm Bed and Breakfast as a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. Franscesca made us feel very welcome and at home. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and beautifully furnished. Tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits and crisps were available in our room. Breakfast was excellent with plently of choice from fresh fruit, cereals etc and a large freshly cooked selection. Nothing was too much trouble for our host. Many thanks Franscesca for making our stay such a pleasure and for giving us a lift into Paisley on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Francesca, thank you for making our trip to Paisley for a Family Golden Wedding celebration, extra special. The welcome was so warm & friendly, your home so beautiful & spotlessly clean. Bed rooms are lovely & Breakfast a real treat with lots of choice.So glad we found your B & B.
Can't wait to return to be spoilt again.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchess1Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I were catching up with my family last week and found this beautiful B and B on the internet. When we arrived the two westie dogs were a home comfort as i have one at home and Fracessca (Lady who owns the house) could not of done more for us. We had a beautiful room, cleaned everyday with fresh biccies and crisps laid out in the room. The breakfast can be as big or as small as you want it and is always cooked to prefection.. The Eggs Benedict is something I wanted more and more of!! This B and B is ideal for business people and couples who are staying in Paisley with only a 10 minute walk to the town. Francessca can not do enough for you and bearing in mind she runs the B and B by herself with a lovely lady Annette who helps her clean the rooms. This place is a real home from home and i urge anyone who will be in the paisley area to go and stay! I will be again very Soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have been fortunate enough to stay in numerous B & Bs and Hotels, both in this country and around the world, and we can say without a doubt, that Francesca's Muirholm B & B in Paisley is number 1 by far. It is in a very quiet residential street about 5 mins walk from the town centre.
The decoration & furnishings throughout this beautiful house are very tasteful & absolutely spotless.

With excellent hospitality from the moment we arrived, delicious freshly cooked breakfasts, and the most spotlessly clean room we have ever stayed in, we can give it nothing but an “Excellent” rating. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely Lady. (In fact, she drove us 3 miles to nearby Johnstone one day to collect our Hire Car that we'd left at our friends' house after their party the night before!!!)

Francesca was very apologetic that (as she was fully booked) we would have to have her smallest double room at the back of the house, overlooking the immaculately kept garden! It was very spacious with an en suite and a huge walk-in wardrobe! It had the most beautiful decoration with matching bedding & curtains and the bed was incredibly comfortable too..
She wanted to move us to a bigger room after 2 days, but we really didn't see the need to move from our beautiful room, so stayed put!
I don't normally sleep very well, but actually it was so quiet, with just birds singing in the morning, that I was able to go down to breakfast every day feeling quite refreshed.

We left after a four night stay feeling that we had made a new friend. Thank you Francesca for welcoming us into your beautiful home. We will be back soon and will definitely recommend you to our Family & Friends too!

Lyn & Del

Room Tip: All the rooms were tastefully decorated with en suite facilities. Room 4 at the back, where we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

You would never know that this is a guest house!

Its stunning interior, one room has a bathroom with black marble floor with diamante sparkles imbedded in, with a free standing bath sitting in the middle. The carpet in the room is of highest standards, the type that just sinks your toes into it. It has the most comfortable HUGE beds you can think of and is excellent value for money. You even get extra little complimentary snacks in your room, rocky bars, crisp and mini cheddars was what I had on my last visit. All you have to decide is which side of the bed you are going to sleep on.

On arrival, you are met by the owner Francesca, lovely lady, who will show you to your room and advise of facilities and breakfast arrangements.
Now.... Breakfast is a different kettle of fish... the table is laid out with all matching crockery, place mats and the best of all is the tea pot comes with its own tea cosy... reminds me of Ethel from east enders, those of you who remember way back then.. LOVE IT!

All I can say is the place is stunning, decorated with such class and to a very high spec, brass door handles are polished where it shines so much you can use it as a mirror, and you get such a warm welcome which makes you feel right at home.
I’ve stayed in many 5* hotels, and this guest house is right up there ... and if this was the choice in every location i stayed.. id choose it over any Radisson or Hilton any day.

Enjoy your stay!
Tara

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Co Down
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I just spent a night at Muirholme as I had a business trip to Hillington (not far from Glasgow Airport) and couldn't face another dawn flight. I got a taxi from the airport which only took five minutes - got the rudest taxi driver in Scotland - but that's another story. I was very glad to arrive at Muirholme and the owner, Francesca was so friendly I felt immediately at home. My first impression was of a spotlessly clean and polished, large, cosy, family home. Muirholme also feels very Scottish, from the tartan carpet (very tastefully done!) to Francesca's two little West Highland White terriers. Don't worry if you're not keen on dogs, they are kept well out of the way and apart from the occasional 'woof' I didn't notice them. Francesca only brought them out because I like dogs and asked to see them. My room seemed to have been newly decorated - everything was incredibly clean and fresh. The ensuite bathroom looked like it had just been installed. There wasn't a smudge of dirt anywhere. The large bed had a good quality mattress and luxurious linen. There was a wall-mounted flat screen TV and I was able to get Wifi using BT Openzone. Good double glazing meant there was no noise from outside and as there are only a few guest rooms, inside was quiet too. I had a great, uninterrupted night's sleep and a terrific breakfast the next morning. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paisley hotels
0.6 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
0.5 mi away
Watermill Hotel
Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Paisley
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirholme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirholme B&B

Property: Muirholme B&B
Address: 4 Calside Avenue, Paisley PA2 6DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muirholme B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muirholm Bed and Breakfast situated in the town of Paisley offers deluxe accommodation, delicious breakfasts and friendly hospitality in a quiet residential area very close to the Royal Alexandra Hospital, University of the West of Scotland and a short drive to Glasgow Airport. Glasgow city centre is only about 8 miles away and we have frequent train and buses going into the city. Muirholm has all the amenities that you would expect in a 5 star establishment with super king beds in most rooms and all rooms are en suite. Hairdryers and dressing gowns are provided as well as slippers. All rooms have a large digital television and digital radio with docking station for your convenience. Luxury complimentary toiletries are provided as well as generous hospitality trays. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Parking available in our own grounds. Muirholm is a detached, red sandstone, Victorian villa built at the end of the nineteenth century by the Coats family, who were the main cotton and thread manufacturers in Scotland. Many of the finest buildings in Paisley were commissioned by this famous family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Muirholme B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muirholme B&B Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing