We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, rude staff”
Review of Hamishes' Hoose

Hamishes' Hoose
Ranked #32 of 174 Restaurants in Paisley
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in Paisley town centre, Hamishes’ Hoose was opened with great fanfare in 1988 as a Traditional Bar/Restaurant. Our promise was (and still is) to provide: good, honest to goodness value for money; Food, Drink and the best Entertainment in the town in a warm and welcoming atmosphere.We have a great team to serve you, every member of our cheery staff is regularly battered into submission so that they will provide you with the best service in town, and hey! you might even get a smile to go with your order.Hamishes’ Hoose has won awards for our community based outlook, our massive contribution to the entertainment scene and we were also finalists in the Pub of the Year awards hosted by the Licensed Trade Association of Scotland. We stock only the best of produce from local suppliers and pride ourselves on our popular range of beers.At Hamishes we are dedicated to making sure that the good people of Paisley have one of the finest eating, drinking and entertainment venues in the West of Scotland.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely new Hoose, great atmosphere and great food as usual. However waitress that served us had a terrible attitude. Will not stop me returning, just hoping she is not still serving.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mi77ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hey there, Thanks for the great review of our food we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in the Hoose. We take on board what you say about staff rudness inexcusable, we will deal with that. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited today for lunch/dinner with my husband and 8yr old son. Lovely modern and bright decor, friendly staff and excellent menu. My husband had the haggis burger which was tasty and filling but he didn't like the peppercorn sauce. I had the steak pie which i enjoyed and my son had the cheese burger & chips. It was very clean with a nice family atmosphere. I would recommend it...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebbieW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi There, Thanks very much for your glowing review of Hamishes Hoose we appreciate the comments. Try the Haggis burger on its own or with a Whisky sauce. cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Every time i go to hamishes, it never disappoints. New restaurant has been done very tastefully and has a really welcoming feel to it. The meals are always really enjoyable, and you leave feeling satisfied and wanting to go back. Their coleslaw is soooo yummy! Great value for money and this makes your visit extra special and you really feel you get a good deal for your money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pauljules2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Pauljules, Great comments and we are delighted that you like us so much, thanks very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was in on Saturday lunchtime for food for the first time since the new hoose opened its doors. I had been in a couple of times for a drink but this time I needed to line my stomach before a big day out.

Service and staff great and food amazing as ever. All came quickly, typical huge portions, home made and no complaints from our party of 8.

Place looking so much better and fresher than the old place. Very busy and lovely atmosphere. So much bigger and brighter than the old hoose too!

Bill came to less than £10 each for a main meal and a couple of drinks. Great value. Cannae beat it!!

The only pub I will go to eat in Paisley!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hobbes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Hobbes, Thanks for your very nice comments about the Hoose, they are very much appreciated by everyone here. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Myself and my fiancé had used the hoose at least once a month for a could of years as it was a great place to get great for and nice surroundings in the back Sneddon, since its moved to the new hoose we haven't been back after our first trip as we emailed and to book a table was told that we didn't have to we could just come and get a table and food, on arrival we waited for about 10 mins for someone to see us and they couldn't seat us so we had to take 2 small tables for 7 of us. We got a table a short while later and the food and everything was still really good. The girls behind the bar were moody and unhelpful but there was one boy on shift with the red hair couldn't have been nicer and saved the night for us but won't be back n a hurry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LyndaSinclair1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thats a shame you had a bad experience on your visit, please try us again sometime and let us try and make it up to you. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamishes' Hoose also viewed

Paisley, Renfrewshire
Paisley, Renfrewshire
 
Paisley, Renfrewshire
 
Paisley, Renfrewshire
Paisley, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Hamishes' Hoose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing