We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not going to rush back!!”
Review of Hamishes' Hoose

Hamishes' Hoose
Ranked #34 of 162 Restaurants in Paisley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in Paisley town centre, Hamishes’ Hoose was opened with great fanfare in 1988 as a Traditional Bar/Restaurant. Our promise was (and still is) to provide: good, honest to goodness value for money; Food, Drink and the best Entertainment in the town in a warm and welcoming atmosphere.We have a great team to serve you, every member of our cheery staff is regularly battered into submission so that they will provide you with the best service in town, and hey! you might even get a smile to go with your order.Hamishes’ Hoose has won awards for our community based outlook, our massive contribution to the entertainment scene and we were also finalists in the Pub of the Year awards hosted by the Licensed Trade Association of Scotland. We stock only the best of produce from local suppliers and pride ourselves on our popular range of beers.At Hamishes we are dedicated to making sure that the good people of Paisley have one of the finest eating, drinking and entertainment venues in the West of Scotland.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not going to rush back!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Myself and my fiancé had used the hoose at least once a month for a could of years as it was a great place to get great for and nice surroundings in the back Sneddon, since its moved to the new hoose we haven't been back after our first trip as we emailed and to book a table was told that we didn't have to we could just come and get a table and food, on arrival we waited for about 10 mins for someone to see us and they couldn't seat us so we had to take 2 small tables for 7 of us. We got a table a short while later and the food and everything was still really good. The girls behind the bar were moody and unhelpful but there was one boy on shift with the red hair couldn't have been nicer and saved the night for us but won't be back n a hurry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaSinclair1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thats a shame you had a bad experience on your visit, please try us again sometime and let us try and make it up to you. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    110
    52
    17
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Foods really good value not the best in the world but you by one get one free so can't complain,big portions homely food worth a try if your passing x

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaloulaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi TalulaGlasgow, Thanks for popping in and trying oor Hoose glad you have a pleasant visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a bit dissapointed”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been to hamishes many of times when it was at old sneddon street it was great but im very dissapointed with new place first time i phoned up for a seat to be told they were too busy only to contact the manager and got a seat second time me and mum just went in to get a seat to be told again there was no seats even know there were loads,service is not great and not enough staff on a sat night but the only good thing i can say is food is still lovely and prices are good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
So Sorry to hear that you wont be back because of the layout of the new Hoose. It can get noisy at weekends when its busy with folk enjoying the food and drink so try during the week or a Sunday as you are more likely to have a quieter visit. Thanks for the nice words about the Food and Staff. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hi we have been going to Hamishes for many years at back sneddon street decided to give the new hoose a try,we did not reserve a table but on arrival Friday night it was very busy and very loud waitress got us a seat which was great anyway food first class service was quick,food was piping hot and the usual big portions could not fault food and staff excellent but we were really disappointed that it was so loud you could not hear your ears the old hoose had a better layout,bar seperate from eating area so we would like to wish you every success in your new hoose,but we will not be back,which is a great shame for we loved your old hoose better

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We loved the auld Hoose too, but unfortunately due to rent hike we had to move. The new place is brighter and fresher, I do understand what you say about the layout but that is a small price to pay for a smashing new Hoose. We are delighted that you enjoyed our very high standard of food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

So glad we tried!
Tried lunch for the first time here and were not disappointed. Food lovely, portions are big and the staff very friendly

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaisleyPiero, Manager at Hamishes' Hoose, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words they are very much appreciated by us. We look forward to seeing you again in oor Hoose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamishes' Hoose also viewed

Paisley, Renfrewshire
 
Paisley, Renfrewshire
Paisley, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Hamishes' Hoose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing