We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my friends for business and it looked amazing on internet I drove up and it matched everything I was looking for however room was not nice and very tired and old fashioned and not to a good standard, service by miss mackintosh was awful in cocktail bar very rude talked down to us, we only managed 3 drinks in 3 hours, were not allowed to order steak from main restaurant into cocktail bar I could see why I could not eat a burger in main restaurant but the other way around is beyond me, bar bill wrong, ordered 2 deserts to taste both and waitress looked down on me and said you are ordering 2, yes that's right my dear I would like a choice!! She

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I were treated to a 2 night stay at Murrayshall House Hotel from my sister and brother-in-law. They have been going for several years and always rated the hotel very highly. The location is in a beautiful setting with two adjoining golf courses. My husband enjoyed the two rounds of golf on Hogmanay and New Year's Day. The women had a fair walk to Scone village so be prepared with some good walking boots and suitable rainwear.
The hotel room was very nice and staff were very attentive at all times. Food was really excellent and plentiful with local produce on the menu.
The Hogmanay dinner was well organised and well presented. We ate in the Old Masters restaurant and moved to the Clubhouse for some dancing to a live band leading up to the "Bells". There are lovely roaring fires if you prefer to relax in comfortable surroundings.
The New Years' Day Brunch is a special treat, starting at 8:30am with pastries and croissants, all types of breakfast dishes and moving on to cold cuts with fabulous salads, fruits and special chef's desserts!
A lovely place to relax and chill out and dog lovers can even bring their pets with them!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing stay at Murrayshall Hotel. A beautiful setting with lovely grounds. Room was extremely comfortable, restaurant offered good menu from local produce and staff very attentive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to a Christmas party here last Saturday and had a GREAT time.
We arrived to a friendly and efficient welcome and check-in, went upstairs to a beautiful and comfortable bedroom in the main hotel, and enjoyed some drinks and a great meal in the function suite.
The DJ and his special assistant were brilliant at getting the party started and keeping it going till 1am, after which we had another couple of drinks before heading upstairs where we slept like logs. In the morning, we were served a brilliant cooked breakfast while we swapped tales with friends about the party.
Thanks to everyone who made our stay so much fun and so very enjoyable.
The hotel has two golf courses and a driving range but I don't think there is a pool or spa - we didn't have time to go looking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Iain M

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay. Our party nights have been very successful this year with many comments about the quality of the food and service. Our resident DJ has been as popular as ever and has already confirmed for next year. I hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel we were a bit apprehensive but any fears were completely unfounded. The hotel location is beautiful. Service was friendly, efficient but without being obtrusive. We stayed in the Murray Room which is huge and has double aspect windows with great views. Excellent value for money and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

I am glad that enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the kind comments. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Only went because of itison deal, £9 for 2 courses and glass of wine. Good value. Formal dining room complete with white linen tablecloths. Very good food, perfect portion size, promptly served, by attentive, friendly staff. Lovely separate, comfortable bar area. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C7AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch and the comfortable surroundings and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night over the weekend. The building is lovely as you drive up and the golf courses and grounds look great. Lovely location, just outside of Perth.
However, the room we were in (5) was somewhat tired and sad. It was very basic with a small tv, no fridge or mini bar and tired looking decor. Wifi cost £9 per day - poor in this day an age for a hotel I would say.

The staff were friendly enough and the bar at the clubhouse was very nice to sit and have a drink. The public rooms looked far nicer that the room we stayed in.

Breakfast was in a nice room and was very tasty.

Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: the standard one we were in wasn't very nice - i have heard from a friend that the suites are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Sorry that you did not enjoy your room, our rooms in the main house are all individually decorated in a country house fashion using premium fabrics and furnishings. The hotel rooms do not have mini bars or fridges in them but our external suites are all furnished with a small fridge and microwave oven as well as seperate lounge areas. Perhaps next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
792 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,329 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,874 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: $100 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing