We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two nights stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A la carte dining experience was fantastic, food and service excellent with commanding scenic views over the country side and at night, the twinkling lights of Perth were an added charm. We stayed in a suite away from the main country house but this did not deter our enjoyment as we thoroughly enjoyed the space and peace looking out onto the autumn colours of the trees. We found all staff to be courteous and helpful in all areas of the hotel. I would like to add that considering we stayed early November, the greens staff are to be commended on the conditions of the greens. We enjoyed the challenge of the golf course and the pleasant immediate surrounding area for country walk and in both found that the views were equally stunning x fab - would love to stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you hopefully returning on another occassion in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    165
    66
    26
    9
See reviews for
64
239
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in a junior sweet overnight. The room was clean, well appointed and of a generous size.

All the staff were friendly but some seemed a little 'lost'. I can only presume there were a few new members of staff as I did not experience the cohesive level of service I would expect.

We initially went for lunch in the Stotts bar. A nice roomy bar tailored towards the golfers. Ordered soup and sandwiches. Waited around 30 minutes before asking where our order was. Five minutes later our soup arrived. A further 15 minutes later our sandwiches followed. Extremely poor level of service but apologies were forthcoming. I had hoped to put this down to a glitch in service as it was at the later end of the lunch service period.

Enjoyed a relaxing pre dinner drink in the lovely cocktail bar. Only complaint was the staffs inability to light the log fire. The added ambiance would have been nice.

Dinners itself was excellent. The food was excellent and the service very good. The dinning room is a lovely place to enjoy an evening meal. It is a great size and has a nice ambiance. The wine list is excellent and all the wine we selected was available.

The cocktail bar was a lovely place to enjoy a post dinner drink. They still had not managed to light the fire though.

The bed and sleep quality were very good. Good sized and comfortable beds.

Breakfast was taken in the same dining room as dinner the previous evening. Stunning views out of the large windows there enjoyed. The selection for breakfast was very good and included a vegetarian option. Unfortunately poor service reared its head again. We waited at least 30 minutes after placing our order before having to enquire as to where it was. In this time others who had placed orders after us had received what they had requested. The breakfasts themselves were excellent once they finally arrived.

I would like to gaive Murrayshall at least a four but it simply does not deserve it. My overall impression was of a lack of staff supervision. Some staff were outstanding and doing the lions share of the work. Others were like rather uninterested lost souls. The two instances we had to enquire as to where our orders were is simply unacceptable.

I would have reported our experiences to the manager prior to leaving but this would have ruined the weekend for my partner. I had considered contacting the hotel prior to reviewing it here but decided against it. Instead I have written what I consider to be a balanced and honest review of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I was very sorry to hear that the service levels you received were not up to our normal standards, it is something wew normally score very highly on. If there is a problem please let us know at the time and we will do our very best to rectify any issues.
From your comments we have now introduced a policy that the log fire in the bar will be lit at 4pm daily, sometimes we do get a downdraft in the chimney which can cause issues when lighting, or sometimes from damp logs
Fires in public areas which are used all day such as the clubhouse are lit in the mornings.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night for a wedding we were attending on the Saturday. There was a wedding going on on Friday night and when we had originally booked some 3 months before, we had asked specifically not to be put too close to where the weddings took place. They put us in room 18, which is absolutely next door to the function rooms and sleep was impossible. Complaints to the receptionist at 9.00 and 9.30PM proved fruitless and we were told we couldn't be moved.

Eventually we went to the night porter at 11.30PM and he was helpful and sympathetic and moved us immediately to one of the suites in a building away from the main hotel block. We stayed in the upgraded accommodation both nights and they charged us the original rate less a small discount, which we felt was fair.

I have to say the wedding on Saturday was superb and I can thoroughly recommend Murrayshall as a wedding venue, but if you want peace and quiet, don't let them put you in room 18.

Room Tip: Unless you are involved in the wedding, avoid the rooms on the ground floor near the function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair_Peebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I apologize if we have made an error on this occassion, we do not normally get complaints from this room.
We could not move you at the time of your request as the hotel was full, it was only when we realized that a room had not arrived much later that evening that we could accommodate your request to be moved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fortunately, they saved me from disaster at 11.45pm when another hotel had over-booked. So I am not going to fault them for being so welcoming or for saving me sleeping on a park bench! I was put in a chalet which is a short walk from the main house. It wasn't raining but if it had been...the decor was plain, the furnishings tired and tatty. The sofa and armchair looked as though they'd been through several generations, the pine furniture was very 1980s. The bathroom was also dated but in its favour was a decent shower and a proper bath (hard to find these days!).
I did like the look of the main house and imagine this is where the best rooms are located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I am very dissapointed with your comments , the suites were built and decorated to a very high standard using Laura Ashley furnishings, Hypnos beds and very expensive sanitary ware in the bathrooms.
We are not a brand new designer hotel but neither do I think the majority of guests agree with your comments, this is born out by the many posative reviews we recieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What an excellent hotel with food to make your stay memorable. It has a magnificent setting overlooking the Perthshire countryside. The hotel is very convenient for Perth.
The staff were friendly and very helpful with outstanding service in the restaurant. Public areas are attractive and comfortable. The standard room we were in was a little on the small side with limited storage space and not much room to move around. However the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Might be worth upgrading to a superior room.
The highlight for us was the restaurant with a good choice from the A La Carte and 'Taste of Murrayshall' menus. We had an allowance of £25 each evening and this more or less covered 3 courses. The food was attractively presented and tasted even better!
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to be back before too long!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are on the small side and a superior room might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeNewton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we strive to ensure we use locally scourced produce cooked to high standards, I will pass your comments on to chef and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Found this on groupon deal and it certainly is a deal. lovely setting lovely food and caring staff.
A must for anyone wanting to visit Perthshire with plenty of nice settings thrown in. Cant go wrong with this and if you like golf HEAVEN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had an upgrade to a superior room which had only one chair with a huge bed dominating the room -- a rickety dressing table with 2 narrow drawers was only drawer storage - other storage in a peculiar cupboard which housed hanger for clothes and teamaking facilities ?? health and safety.The toilet did not flush and despite several complaints was still US after 2/3 days
Very plush bar area outside dining room and fabulous wine list -- I chose a wine -- not available ---
found acceptable wine eventually after 4 tries and a bit more expensive than usual -- same thing on second night getting home in three tries this time
First night dinner was OK but wife's main course was cold and she complained -- very helpful apology from ?? Maitre --?? Kath -- she offered us full refund the meal on departure
Golf courses were excellent with nice buggies
On departure reception staff unaware of food refund and ?? Kath was on day off -- conference was called with Manager and 2 other staff and we were interrogated -- Managers final decision was a refund of £25 and we hastily departed

Room Tip: Inspect the room first before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auchterlonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I note from your review that you stayed at Murrayshall in May 2012 but have only just posted a review in October,some 5 months later.
I can only respond now by stating that we have a full time maintenance employee who attends to any guest issues, these are usually dealt with as soon as they are reported.
We also have an extensive wine cellar holding normally around £9,000 ( nine thousand pounds) of stock. I can only assume you have been quite unlucky with your choice on this occassion.
We will always endeavour to satisy any complaints prior to a guests departure if brought to our attention at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
722 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
878 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
18.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing