We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For the £140 a night price tag there were a few disappointments at the hotel. We assumed we would be in the main hotel, but ended up in an annexe. This is not terribly convenient when raining, and you have to run between the main hotel and annexe.

We were unable to get hot water in the shower, which I find really annoying, we then discovered at breakfast our friends staying in the main hotel had the same issue. The fridge in our room didn't work either, another small thing but also very irritating.

The food and service were fine, but I wouldn't be rushing back soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgowgal4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The annexe you refer to are our suites adjacent to the hotel ,they are extremely popular giving guests very large bedroom and lounge facilities, some measuring up to 200sq metres with all the facilities of a 4 star hotel, courtesy umbrellas are provided in every suite in the event of inclement weather. Hot water is provided by instantaneous boilers with a limitless supply hot of water, these are checked for any service issues on a regular basis,faults on this type of system are very rare.
We endeavour to offer a high quality guest experience and a lack of hot water would not be accptable to us as professional accomodation providers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    178
    67
    29
    11
See reviews for
66
259
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second time visting and staying at Murrayshall House Hotel - sometimes when you make a return visit it never comes up to your expectations - but this one did. From the time we arrived and checked in to the time we left, all the staff could not be more helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. On this occasion we enjoyed a "60's night" in the Restaurant and danced and sang till 1 am with a superb DJ who kept the music and banter going non-stop to everyone's enjoyment - it felt like it was a private party and those guests you didn't know at the beginning, by the end you were 'friends'. We had a superior room on the ground floor which has everything from relaxing armchairs to ironing board, from a bed so big you need a sat nav to find your partner to the quietness of the surrounding area. The evening meal, breakfast and snack in the Clubhouse Bar when we arrived - fantastic. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Played Murrayshall golf course on Friday 28th September,and stayed overnight and played Lyndoch Golf Course on the Saterday.Murrayshall greens a bit ropey but enjoyed the course overall.Lyndoch has some really interesting holes,but again the greens were poor.The views on both courses are lovely however Lyndoch views are really spectacular.I would reccomend having a buggy for both courses.The Hotel was really good,the rooms were excellent and the food in the main restaurant was fantastic.The staff could not be more friendly.Worth a visit even if you dont play golf.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketron49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed over to attend an evening function. Had booked superior room...upgraded to a junior suite, lovely but very tired. Wonder what the superior room would have been like. Dinner in restaurant which was wonderful well presented and service fantastic, marvellous breakfast also. Overall relaxing an old establishment with character...bit on the pricey side when you conisder the accomodation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at Murrayshall. The food in both the pub and at breakfast was wonderful! The room was nice, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a walk around the beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VondaSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a lovely stay. Staff, in particular Richard were amazing. Nothing was a problem them to them. The food in the Clubhouse is absolutely first class and exceptional value for money. Breakfast overlooking the course was delicious.The Pro Shop were very helpful and stored our clubs and charged our batteries too. The courses are in great condition despite the Scottish weather! Both are challenging in very different ways. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydaysscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a terrific weekend golfing break with our two friends. The golf courses were in very good condition for this time of year, on challenging but fair courses. The friendly service that we recieved throughout our stay was exemplary, from the pro shop, to the hotel reception to the excellent Richard who manages the front of house in the clubhouse.
The quality and value of the breakfast, lunches and dinner was amazingly good as was the service. Best recomendation that I can give is that we will certainly be back

Room Tip: request either a lodge or a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
920 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing