We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“festive food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port-na-Craig Inn

Port-na-Craig Inn
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: $26 - $32
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“festive food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Pitlochry. The food is delicious with high quality ingredients, freshly prepared and always the added bonus of seasonal specials. The service is exceptionally friendly and sincere. A relaxed, cosy daytime environment that turns into a perfect evening ambience as well. The views are beautiful. You must try the pumpkin pie!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chloe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    153
    71
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here in the sun filled conservatory and I promise to return in the cosier rooms beyond! The service was wonderful, relaxed, friendly and efficient!
The views are out of this world as situated on the banks of the river!
THANKYOU I will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great situation and good food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have visited on a number of occasions. This restaurant is in a great. situation beside the river. On sunny days you can sit outside. Inside the ambiance is good, especially in the covered in entrance area. Choice of food is excellent, nicely cooked and well presented. On our last visit (lunch before the theatre) there was obviously a staff issue in the kitchen. Service was very slow, but the food when it did arrive was excellent. The owner very kindly drove us up in her car to the theatre (we had one person with limited mobility with us) and offered free puddings after the show. Impressed that major effort was made to make ammends for the slow service. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great choice for theatre”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This restaurant is situated between the Festival Theatre and the river so if visiting for a show the location is great. Serving staff were pleasant and the food quality was very good. What brought our review from four stars to three were a couple of points. Firstly two of our party choose a soup starter but that was popular on a cold evening and ran out. Rather than advising our party and giving them an option to choose another starter the staff simply brought out entirely different soups and seemed surprised when the party no longer wanted soup. Replacement starters were quickly brought out. Secondly the value could have been better. At £21.95 for two pre theatre courses you could have eaten in the Edinburgh and Glasgow at some very nice restaurants for less money. Fern Cottage in Pitlochry offers a similar standard of cooking but better value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lakes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“dog friendly & great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we had a drink here & liked the look of the menu but as we had our dog with us we thought we would be unable to eat. This turned out not to be the case & the staff said our dog was more than welcome as they had dogs themselves! We had a very enjoyable meal & drinks. the service was excellent as was the food! We would definitely return if we we were again in Pitlochry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MIssMouseHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port-na-Craig Inn also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Port-na-Craig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing