We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal & Entertainment”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Old Mill Inn offers a menu to delight every palate. We pride ourselves on serving the best fresh local produce and our dishes have been created to offer a wide choice, incorporating everything from old favourites such as golden whole tail scampi & golden chips through to a smorgasbord of delectable salmon on our popular Tay salmon platter - all with the Old Mill Inn's own twist, of course! We also have a daily specials board to choose from. The Old Mill restaurant is open each day from 8am for breakfast and we serve delicious meals between 12pm - 9pm daily. From November to April the kitchen may be closed between 3-5pm. We offer indoor and outdoor seating - if the weather is nice, there's nothing better than enjoying a cold drink on the decking watching the world go by to the sound of the mill wheel. If you have any dietary requirements please inform staff on arrival. We are delighted to offer free WiFi access* throughout the Bar & Bistro.
Allanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Meal & Entertainment”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé had dinner here recently, and must say the food and service was superb, friendly staff and friendly atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to dine or just to relax with a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    681
    149
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No rooms, but a good night ...”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Tried in vain to book a room here, but quite glad when I ended up in the excellent value for money Fishers Hotel, but came back for a good night with a live band.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LargeSauvignonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic pub and restaurant. Perfect for an evening meal or a relaxing drink. The staff are great and the food is amazing. We've eaten here a few times and always have a great meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with amazing service!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

7 of us went to the Old Mill for a celebration dinner and it was perfect! The food was
Beautiful and the service fantastic with exceptional attention given to our party by Nikki, meeting every request we made with efficiency and a smile! Amazing food at a very reasonable price, will definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzied184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A few of my friends had checked in at the Old Mill so we thought we would give it a go
We went twice, and would not rush back
The first time was on a Thursday night for dinner as few places were open by the time we went out
I had one of the 'specials', which was a beef lasagne. It was tasteless and had clearly been microwaved within an inch of its life. After delivering the food, the waiting staff did not come back to see if our food was ok (which it wasn't), and we couldn't get their attention. I was starving so I ate it....reluctantly. When they came to clear the plates we told them how poor it was and it was taken off the bill.
We went back on the Saturday lunchtime just for a quick drink but the heavens opened so we had the cheese platter to share.........just to keep us going till there was a break in the weather. Cheese board was ok, but again, staff did not come back to check and we wanted some butter to go with the bread (none was provided) and some more bread - pretty much had to holler across the room to get any follow up service
Wouldn't go back - at best it was mediocre.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJCondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill Inn also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing