We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalshian Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalshian Guest House
Ranked #12 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Dalshian House is a lovely old country house set in large gardens just on the edge of Pitlochry. The large bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully furnished in a style appropriate to the age of the house, and our bed was large and very comfortable. The lounge looks so inviting that we were sorry we couldn't make use of it as we were staying only one night on this occasion. The breakfast is just fabulous - a selection of poached fruits, yogurt, cereals, porridge, a wide range of main courses all cooked to order, and a variety of breads and muffins to finish. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    33
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
246
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for just one night and very much enjoyed it. The bed was extremely comfortable and the rooms are spacious. As everyone else has said the breakfast is delicious. Location is good, a short drive to the town centre and less than 5 minute walk from the East Haugh Hotel where we went for a couple of drinks.

Overall, we would recommend it to anyone and may well return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSassyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

we had a nice room under the roof, very large. we had a good breakfast. we got a excellent recommendation for a restaurant where we spent a nice evening. large selection of tea and cakes. nice old country-house. the bed was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as we were attending Blair Horse Trials. Our room was lovely and furnished to suit the period house. Huge comfortable bed and a bathroom which was large and well furnished. Breakfast was the best we have ever had anywhere in our travels. Fantastic selection and cooked to order.My husband had to be away early each morning and a full breakfast was available at 7.00am. Unknown in most guest houses.Will be back next year.True Scottish Hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moyra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a quick 'night away' from town and I am really glad we did! We are Scottish and are often disappointed by supposedly 'Scottish experiences' and tourism. However, this was wholly positive. A big old house with lovely grounds, the rooms were comfortable, clean and (our room) was nicely finished with fantastic tiles in the bathroom (original? I want them!) The owners were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was fantastic - fruits, cereals, yoghurt, juice, tea/coffee and a great selection of hot food (much more than the normal guest house or b&b). We opted for the Scottish breakfast, although next time I think I would get the smoked salmon and eggs...
Would be happy to stay there again and recommend to others. A 'good' Scottish experience - traditional but not twee and a lovely welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalaprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dalshian House is a period property furnished in a country house style situated just outside Pitlochry. Our room & its en suite were very large & thoughtfully furnished. The bed was huge (super king size) and very comfortable, and there were lots of nice touches provided - iced water, hot chocolate, flavoured teas. But the jewel in the crown has to be the breakfast. I can honestly say we have never had better. As well as cereal there was a plentiful selection of different fruits & compotes. The cooked selection was equally generous - wanted to try the porridge with either cream or whisky but couldn't manage everything. Hubby had a cooked breakfast which he said was superb with lovely vine tomatoes & fresh mushrooms and I had French toast with crispy bacon & maple syrup. Heaven! Even saw a red squirrel in the garden which made my day. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into giving guests a very comfortable stay, and it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our room here was comfortable, quiet, and clean. A nice house with an inviting, homey feel, and friendly hosts. Breakfast was tasty. A 5 minute drive out of town, but not so far as to be inconvenient. We were only in town for a single night, but would have been happy to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveAMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalshian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalshian Guest House

Property: Dalshian Guest House
Address: Dalshian House Old Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century country guest house set within one acre of secluded woodland and gardens, conveniently situated on the outskirts of Pitlochry. Here Martin and Heather Walls extend the warmest of welcomes in a genuinely friendly, but unobtrusive, manner. Tastefully decorated with a mixture of contemporary and traditional furnishings, you will find yourself captivated by this tranquil house. Seven spacious en-suite bedrooms all individually decorated, in keeping with their original character are provided with every comfort one would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dalshian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalshian Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing