We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dalshian Guest House
Ranked #9 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good stay but pricey”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding. The owner was very welcoming on arrival; the building was a nice old house with large, colourful gardens; the breakfast was very tasty. The only downside was that it was pretty pricey for one night for a 3 star - but the same could be said for all other accommodation in town at the time (mid-summer).

It's not actually in Pitlochry which could be a bit of a hassle as there are only 2 taxi companies in the town and you'd need a car really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    33
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
254
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muir of Ord, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very warm welcome. Martin and Heather could not have been more helpful. Superb breakfast selection cooked to high standard and well presented. Tasteful decor in public rooms. Good selection of books ands DVDs. Lovely log fire. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Fraser_Tambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a lovely B&B and the owners, Martin and Heather are very friendly.
It was a cold, wet evening but we arrived to a warm welcome, after having attended a matinee at the Pitlochry Festival Theatre. Our room was lovely and warm and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was superb, the "figs in earl grey tea" and "vanilla infused pears" from the buffet table were fabby as was the cooked breakfast that followed.
Would definately recommend this B&B and we will also be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Faultless, can't wait to return. Tip. Take the bus it costs 70p and a very short walk to the hotel. The sherry in the lounge was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Breakfast was a feast for kings or queens.

Room Tip: No pool or gym lol but there should be after that breakfast menu!,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davinameachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We tried this b and b following one of those voucher offers - we were looking for one anyway and the offer helped make up our minds. Half expecting to be shunted in and out, as many of these so called offers seem to do, we were so very pleasantly surprised to arrive at one of the best b and bs we have ever stayed in in Scotland! The hosts and staff are truly charming, the rooms - lovely with Antique furniture in the rooms and nice touches like fruit and biscuits on arrival. The common sitting room had been beautifully decorated for Christmas, along with complimentary glass of sherry and the owners recommended we eat at the hotel a couple of minutes walk away - again really good if you're after proper good quality food - but still very reasonable.
And then there was breakfast ... Man ... The menu was amazing and everything was homemade - good coffee, jams, a whole selection of different breads ...
All In all - one the best b and bs we have discovered in Scotland - highly recommended either to break your trip up to the very North or to explore the Local hills.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seallofapproval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dalshian House in April of this year during a visit to Pitlochry. We loved it! I chose this B&B based on its high marks on Trip Advisor and once again TA has not steared me wrong! The lodge is located about 2 miles from the main street in Pitlochry (it would not be a bad walk but it is a little bit along a main road). It is located down a lovely country driveway and set in a very pretty garden.

When I initially inquired about rates, I received very helpful emails from Martin Walls. He happily answered many questions I had relating to my entire trip and not just staying with them. Much appreciated.

We were greated by Mrs. Walls upon check in and were shown a very pretty and spacious room on the top floor (Family room I believe with a Queen bed and a twin bed) Room was well kept and I loved the touch of "Dash the Squirrel". Another bonus is the very yummy home made short bread included in the tea service- don't skip it. it was amazing!

As it is located a bit out of town and we had enough of the hair raising driving experience, we asked for a dinner recommendation within walking distance. We were advised to go the Lodge down the street. Mrs. Walls then offered to call and make us a reservation. Great advice- it was a very nice walk by sheep pastures and an old timey phone booth. There were only about 5 tables dining but very interesting speaking with some old timers at the bar that come every year for Salmon fishing. Food was great- Fresh caught salmon and Lamb were to die for! It was a little pricey but worth every bite.

The next morning breakfast was very good too- fresh homemade scones. We recognized two other couples staying from dinner the night before- I guess we were not the only ones to take their advice.

All in all- no complaints and I would recommend Dalshain House to anyone heading to Pitlochry!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldigi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

First class place, superb breakfast with home made jams, marmalade, bread & cakes as well as a fabulous range of freshly cooked dishes. Spotlessly clean and a lovely warm welcome. Our first stay but certainly not our last.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TontoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalshian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalshian Guest House

Property: Dalshian Guest House
Address: Dalshian House Old Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century country guest house set within one acre of secluded woodland and gardens, conveniently situated on the outskirts of Pitlochry. Here Martin and Heather Walls extend the warmest of welcomes in a genuinely friendly, but unobtrusive, manner. Tastefully decorated with a mixture of contemporary and traditional furnishings, you will find yourself captivated by this tranquil house. Seven spacious en-suite bedrooms all individually decorated, in keeping with their original character are provided with every comfort one would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Dalshian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalshian Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing