We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property, lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
View from the sofa Open plan kitchen / dining / livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
View from the sofa
Open plan kitchen / dining / livingroom
The courtyard
Super kingsize or full size twin beds
Walk in shower
The living room with hand made pallet wood light fitting
View from bedroom through to open plan living area
Cow Shed 2 decking
The kitchen area - hand made from pallet wood, with a poured concrete worktop
Wood burner & kitchen dining area
Ensuite bathroom detail
My straw bale wall with light feature on small shelf
Aerial view of our Glen with Lettoch centre photo
A view from Loch Ordie - a favourite local walk
The Lettoch group of buildings, including The Cow Shed & Cow Shed 2
A common early morning mist below us in the valley bottom
Loch Dunmore near Pitlochry
Autumn colours - looking towards Lettoch - on the hill in the middle distance
Winter sun on our local munro
Red deer stags on the hill behind us
The view south from the courtyard
Courtyard flowers
Courtyard flowers
The view north from the hill behind us - 45 minutes walk from the back door
Looking south from the hill behind us
Looking south from the front door - morning mist
View from the south looking towards Lettoch - centre of photo on the far hillside
Lettoch is centre photo, just below the denser patch of trees. Taken from the other side of the glen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
julianb26
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great property, lovely location”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cow Shed 2 is a great property, superbly fitted out, spacious, very comfortable and very homely. great bedroom and walk in shower too! The owners Steve and Kirsty ensure everything you need is there, including advice on walking, here to eat and places to visit,
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna8937...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My sister and I had an excellent weekend at Cowshed 2. It had everything we could need and more in terms of facilities, the scenery was amazing and the owners are such excellent hosts! They were so friendly, left us little locally sourced gifts and had amazing information on things to do nearby, walks to go on and maps, places to eat nearby etc. There is also so much to do nearby, we did a couple of beautiful walks and went white water rafting. We will 100% stay again, we had the best time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and uniqueness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HMG2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Cow Shed 2 is an excellent base for exploring Pitlochry and the surrounding area. As we only stayed for 2 nights (in snowy but sunny weather) we spent one day walking in Pitlochry and another shopping at The House of Bruar. The food market is highly recommended! On the way home we walked to the Soldier's Leap from Killiecrankie visitor centre which was beautiful on a crisp winter's day. As for the Cow Shed 2 itself - it was a cosy retreat from the winter weather! We absolutely loved the log fire with plenty of logs, kindling and coal provided. We were left a welcome gift of delicious local honey, chocolate and coffee which was much appreciated! The décor of the Cow Shed 2 was luxurious but also eco friendly - the owner Steve has used wooden pallets, reclaimed materials and hay to great effect! With spring water from the tap and a beautiful view from the patio doors, we didn't want to leave! The shed is generous in proportions and was well equipped with plates, pots, pans and a good selection of DVDs. There is also Wifi for browsing the internet and checking emails but it's not possible to download films/use Netflix/stream music due to fair use restrictions in the area. This is no big deal as there is also Freeview TV and guests are encouraged to record any films they fancy from Freeview to build up a bank. There's really no need to watch TV as you will be quite happy just looking at the view! I'd love to visit again in the summer to make more use of the generous outside space. However we did enjoy the clear view of the stars at night despite the chilly temperatures! If you're thinking about booking the Cow Shed or Cow Shed 2 - don't hesitate! You'll love it! And I'm jealous... :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, spring water, log fire.
Liked least: Should have stayed longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheLawMan...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Cow Shed 2 in October '15 as we were taking some time to explore that part of Perthshire.

It's situated up on the hill overlooking the A9 (there is no traffic noise) and you get a great view south to north. The low light levels also allow a view of the sky at night. The accommodation is fantastic, and the owners have created a very comfortable one bedroom property out of a former farm building. We were also impressed with the use of recycled and sustainable materials in its construction, showing the 'art of the possible' while maintaining comfort for guests.

There were fresh scones and bread (from the Blair Atholl Watermill), honey and jam on our arrival which were greatly appreciated and polished off quickly! The owners were also most helpful at providing recommendations for walks suited to all levels of fitness (there are numerous trails around Pitlochry and Dunkeld), attractions to visit and where to eat (try the Killiecrankie Hotel is a good option for a supper - you'll get a friendly welcome).

Overall this is excellent self catering accommodation and we would recommend it as an option if you are spending time around the Pitlochry area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and the focus on recycled & sustainable materials in its design
Liked least: No downsides to this property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing