We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigroyston House and Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Charming house and good location. Breakfast was included and good although only served between 8:30 and 9. Rooms very clean. We had quaint and cute rooms, small but comfortable. Gardens are lovely and it was quiet. Hair dryer is terrible so bring your own if that matters as stated by another reviewer. Parking is easy and adequate. Wi fi was free but weak and off and on.

Room Tip: Didn't see them all but ours were charming with Laura Ashley linens and platforms over the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babs3124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 301 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

This a beautiful B&B, well decorated, comfortable, and perfect location in Pitlochry. Immaculate, charming - all positive, one of our favorites of our two week vacation. Breakfast was very relaxing & it was so pleasant to be served each morning. We were very sorry to leave this wonderful home at the end of our vacation. Highly recommend if you are visiting Pitlochry, try to stay here. We loved our 4 days in Pitlochry!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetoTravel614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely B&B. It was one of our favorites during our entire trip in Scotland. The home is just beautiful and really well decorated. I had apparently made a mistake in the reservation and booked it for the wrong week but the owner was super nice and accommodated us on short/no notice. They have a nice parking area. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice hill town/country side view. We missed the breakfast in morning as we wanted to sleep in but I am sure it was lovely. The location is just unbeatable. You can walk down the stairs to the main town street and there are good eating spots and music spots. You can also walk to the Salmon ladders and the river very easily. If you want a hike and an authentic Scotland countryside experience walk left from the B&B and do the Edradour hike up to the Distillery. Its a brisk 30 minute hike with a beautiful waterfall along the way. The views are stellar and the distillery happens to be the smallest one in Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandhya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Perfectly located, near to the centre but very quiet. The cottage was clean and well appointed. Small sleeping rooms and very small shower, but sufficient for us. We were very well receiced. A pleasant stay for us and a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0r-marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a lovely stay at this B&B for one night on 31st May and received a very warm welcome on arrival.

We were allocated the downstairs four poster room which was very comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities, small tv and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The en suite was small but adequate and toiletries were provided and also bathrobes. The hairdryer wasn't great but I had taken my own anyway. And most importantly we had a very good nights sleep!

The large garden was a lovely surprise and had we stayed longer we would definately have spent some time there. Ideal location, only a 2 minute walk through the garden and thereafter a car park and you are at the start of the main street. There is also a lounge area for residents which we never used but looked comfortable.

The only criticism I can find with this B&B is that breakfast is only served between 0830hrs and 0900hrs with a 1000hrs checkout. Not a major deal for us and certainly would not stop us from going back but a slightly bigger window for breakfast and a slightly later checkout would have been good. Breakfast quality and portions were good, yes orange juice is already in glasses on the table, however I'm sure if you wanted a refill they would obllige. Tables are numbered by room however somebody else was already seated at ours, again not a big issue, we just sat at another table.

We look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaveittome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was beautiful, clean and spacious and the proprietor was very helpful but the breakfast let our stay down. Fresh fruit was ok but the kiwi was rock hard so not edible, if you didnt precisely ask for two eggs or two rashers of bacon you only got one, the coffee was stone cold and if you didn't ask for toast you didn't get offered any. The location of the B and B is great though the car park was quite tight. Very helpful and friendly but the breakfast was not on par with the rooms so let our stay down.

Room Tip: Ask for exactly what you want and be prepared to wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Craigroyston House is in a quiet neighborhood and is just a brief walk to the center of town. Our room was neat, clean and had a view. It was comfortable and cozy. We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed for two. The town is more interesting that we expected. The proprietor was very pleasant and accommodating and had a twinkle in his eye. It was a very pleasant stay. It was a good Rick Steves recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigroyston House and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigroyston House and Lodge

Address: 2 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional stone built Victorian villa tastefully decorated providing a relaxed ambience for your stay. We have a beautiful mature garden in which to relax with a bottle of wine in the summer,and a cosy open fire in the lounge for the cold winter nights. Eight en suite letting rooms all equipped with TV, tea / coffee facilities, three with luxury four poster beds. To complete your stay we offer a variety of choices for breakfast plus a full Scottish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigroyston House and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigroyston House And Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing