We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Walk”
Review of Black Spout Wood

Black Spout Wood
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Walk”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We took the train to Pitlochry from Edinburgh. Upon arriving we made the short walk to Blair Atholl distillery. After a tour there we made our way to the Black Spout trail. The trailhead is just down the road from the distillery. It is well marked and and not that challenging. The waterfall is fantastic with a very nice viewing platform. After the waterfall, we followed the trail to the Edradour distillery and took a great tour there. Edradour is the smallest, and most charming, distillery in Scotland. From there we walked to the Moulin Inn and had a delicious late lunch with a pint of their fine microbrew. We finally made our way to the train station to catch a train back to Edinburgh after a lovely day. There was a lot of walking, almost 5 miles I estimate, but the experience was well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TinPshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go when it's raining!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A great place for ashore pleasant walk and with excellent views of the waterfall. Recommended. But go when itis raining. The waterfall is much more impressive!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank StephenOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very pretty walk near waterfall”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had a lovely time on this walk; the woodlands are beautiful as is the waterfall. I did have a hard time actually finding the trail, as you have to walk outside of town a slight ways, and the trail isn't marked as clearly as I would have liked (the trails are quite clear, but I would come across conflicting arrows that confused me). But it is nothing you can't figure out. If you want to get into nature without walking miles and miles, or if you need a shorter walk before catching a train, this is a good one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely walk in convenient location”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's easy to miss the turning to Black Spout Wood, east off the main road just to the south of the Bell's Distillery in Pitlochry. But it's well worth seeking out. Considering you're still really in town, it's a piece of rural heaven, lovely trees, spectacular waterfall and very easy walking, albeit on the side of a hill. It's not far to walk over to Edradour distillery, and close enough to be able to carry your purchases back with you without too much inconvenience. Particularly beautiful in autumn, and after a snowfall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely woodland walk”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a lovely woodland walk though lacking some signs . We had to ask twice if we were in fact on the correct route. The climb is quite rough in places but worth
it to see the rather spectacular drop the water takes . Yes it is well named as looks just like a spout! A bench on the way was a welcome resting place but the climb is not at all bad unless you are out of condition( as I was). It is in trees all the way til you get to the viewing point which is very well constructed.We approached it from the Athol Palace Hotel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arachova27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Spout Wood also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Black Spout Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing