We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not have chosen better”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #16 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had only one night in Pitlochry. So pleased to have spent it at Torrdarach. Next time it will be longer. Cannot fault anything, nor add anything to the many excellent comments already posted. Lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 but sure that all are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishypro, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi 999Tigger,

Thank you ever so much for a lovely review. It is always a pleasure reading comments that prove that the hard work is worth it. We are glad you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you again at Torrdarach House.

Kind regards

Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 384 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights are were delighted with our first visit. The hosts are genuinely welcoming and nothing is too much effort. The house is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. The lounge is excellent with luxurious sofas and chairs surrounding a crackling real fire. The breakfast conservatory is just terrific and sits high overlooking the large gardens containing some impressive scots pines and a wide variety of plants and shrubs. Star garden performers are the red squirrels who join you for breakfast and sit on the tree outside just a few feet from your table!
Our room (6) had terrific views and the bed was extremely comfortable!
This place is an absolute delight.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on ground floor and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainmurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi Iainmurphy1,

Thank you for such a pleasant review. It was a really nice meeting you. We really enjoyed talking to you and we should get a game of Golf in together somewhere, sometime. We are happy that the weather was nice for you at Blair Atholl, plenty of Pars I hope.

Thanks again,

Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We loved our 2 night stay in Pitlochry and the Torrdarach House. Pitlochry is a charming small town, yet not so small that there is nothing to do. Louise and Struan are hard working and welcoming hosts to their lovely home. I realize that now Torrdarach House has new owners. We had Room #1 which had a King bed and a wonderful view. The room was spacious, clean and up to date with beautiful drapes and linens. Our bathroom was quite large. Their website gives accurate detail with its photos. For dinner (both nights) we enjoyed walking up the road past a pond with white swans to the Pitlochry Golf Club. Reasonably priced and quite good. Breakfast at Torrdarach House offers different options. You won’t go away hungry! While in Pitlochry we enjoyed traveling to tour the Queen’s View near Loch Tummel, some hiking to the Edradour Distillery (appreciated the use of the Torrdarach House’s loaner backpacks) and exploring the town. Torrdarach House was one of the very nicest B&B’s we stayed at during our 3 week trip. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room #1 upstairs. Spacious with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hi Cincy2,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We would very much like to welcome you back to Torrdarach House in the future.

Kind regards

Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Torrdarach House for 2 nights in March , it is a beautiful Edwardian House that has been very tastefully decorated. We stayed in room 1 which was beautiful with views across the gardens. Graeme and Susanne made us feel very welcome and were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was a delight with the added bonus of seeing the red squirrels in the garden also enjoying their breakfast , I recommend the Smocked salmon and scrambled eggs, delicious! There are plenty of places to eat in the town only a short walk away. We will certainly stay there again when we are touring Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Louisa47,

It is, always, a real pleasure reading such comments, thank you for that. It was so nice meeting you both, glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience. We hope you enjoyed the Highland Safari and we look forward to seeing you again at Torrdarach House.
Regards
Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Susanne and Graeme are excellent hosts who made my wife and I very welcome. Our room was very well appointed, spotless and very comfortable with a great en-suite. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked.Watching the red squirrels at breakfast was fantastic.When in Pitlochry we will only book the Torrarach.We had a Bottle of house Austrian white wine recommended by Susanne which was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi BG9,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased to hear that the hard work that Susanne does is paying off. Great to read the comment about the Austrian wine. We may tempt you next time with a new selection that will arrive shortly.
It was a pleasure meeting you both and we will look forward to seeing you again at Torrdarach House.
Thanks again
Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at Torrdarach for 3 nights from 20th to 22nd February for a much needed relaxing break. From the moment Graeme opened the front door to welcome us nothing was too much trouble. The room (no 4) was beautifully decorated in a modern & tasteful design with everything we needed. The bathroom was well equipped & had recently been refurbished.
Graeme was helpful in recommending places to eat. We tried Victoria's, the Auld Smiddy and the Old Mill, all of which catered for our tastes.
Breakfast was a pure delight- sitting in the conservatory watching the red squirrels as we ate from the buffet & cooked choices. ( I recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon) I'm sure Graeme & Suzanne have been training the squirrels to pose for the tourists!
We will return and wish Graeme & Suzanne success in this venture. Thankyou for being so hospitable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hi Jenni J,

Thank you for a great review. We really are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Susanne will be thrilled to hear about the scrambled egg and smoked salmon recommendation. Regarding the squirrels, we honestly don't train them but they do only get the best nuts (House of Bruar Hazelnuts)
p.s. your farm does sound great!

Look forward to seeing you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've been fortunate enough to have stayed in locations across Scotland but I have to say without doubt Torrdarach House is the best B&B I've come across for comfort, service and value for money.
I made an date error with the booking but this was not a problem, we were given a beautiful room and hosts Graeme and Susanne made us feel welcome. In addition the location for breakfast is quite stunning.
I would highly recommend the Torrdarach House.

Room Tip: We saw two of Torrdarach's 7 room, both were equally impressive so I would expect all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyndlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi hyndlandman,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The date issue did throw us both a little but I am pleased that it turned out OK. It was great meeting you both, keep up with the music!
thanks again

Graeme & Susanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $136 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is a stunning, 4 Star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the Rhodedendron garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. Free parking & Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing