We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Join the Chorus”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #16 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I can add little to the reviews you read about Torrdarach House and its owners Louise and Struan. The have been hoteliers for many years (3 in this location) and know their business. Since we have been in Scotland for 2 weeks and stayed in several inns and b&b, here is a list of the things that were the BEST ON CLASS at Torrdarach. Welcoming cheerfulness on arrival; beautiful house; best smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (using hot smoked salmon in a good quantity balance with the eggs); wonderful shower in very new bathroom; comfortable bed; garden view. What was average, but still desirable included: size of the room (a bit cramped if you stay a few days); location (you can walk to many restaurants and attractions but it is a steep walk back). We considered the cost very reasonable. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Compuvideo. Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I love the look of your home town by the way. We will have to make a visit one day. Thanks again, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a shame my husband and I only spent one night in Pitlochry en route from Northumberland to Loch Ness. Torrdarach House was absolutely fantastic. Both Struan and Louise were very generous with their time, ensuring we were comfortable on check-in and giving us helpful tips on where to go in town, even making an evening dinner reservation for us at a recommended restaurant (wonderful). Our room was cosy and comfortable - being enveloped in piles of soft bedding while listening to the pitter patter of rain on the window pane was just magic. The bathroom was clean and modern, the room had all the mod cons and there was even a DVD movie library available to choose from. Torrdarach House does luxury so well. And breakfast in the morning? It was a revelation. The food was wonderful enough but the location was just priceless. The breakfast room overlooks a mature garden and multiple bird feeders in the trees ensure a steady stream of birds and even a treasured sighting of a red squirrel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WA_LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello WA_LCD. Well that's a great review! Thanks very much indeed. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland. Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely small inn. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were very helpful in planning activities and suggesting dining options. The room was immaculately clean and warm. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept on during our holiday. Breakfast was a highlight, with freshly made delicious choice of food served in a room with beautiful views of the countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Sandrichie. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Torrdarach. Thanks very much for the kind review. Regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have much enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Torrdarach House in Pitlochry & especially the great service Louise & Struan provided to us in a warm & friendly atmosphere. They do run a 5 star B&B with excellent large clean rooms & great views over the village & beyond. Nothing was a bother, even when my wife had the flu & needed to rest up. The best local dining is within easy walking distance. We plan to re-visit them & the local area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Denis. Thanks for writing a great review of your stay. I hope your wife is feeling better and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in Scotland. Sounds like we might see you again on a return visit from Australia. Kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights in September. The house itself is lovely, having been most beautifully renovated. Room 2 which is at the front of the house, although not large, is stylishly furnished, with a lovely shower room attached. The room has a large bay window which offers great views over the garden and Pitlochry.

The gardens are large and a haven for wildlife and it was great to watch, red squirrels, deer and a whole variety of birds whilst enjoying our excellent breakfast served in the most delightful of conservatories.

The house is a short walk from the centre of Pitlochry and provides easy walking access to many local restaurants and bars.

Struan and Louise are the most pleasant and helpful of hosts, providing great service and hospitality. The breakfasts were great - porridge with whisky and locally produced bacon and black pudding were treats to savour.

Highly recommended as a stay over if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Room 2 offers great views over the gardens and the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hello bobagreen. Thanks for the comprehensive review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your three night stay with us. Maybe we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a (very short) stay at this beautiful B&B I can confirm its #1 ranking! The hosts are friendly and easy-going, and the house and the surrounding garden are well-maintained and furnished in a stylish and luxurious manner. The room and bathroom are comfortable, clean and again give this luxurious feeling that marked the entire stay. The tasteful breakfast with fresh food and delicious (local) products such as honey and jam were the cherry on the cake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi wouty. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks again, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is how B&B's in Scotland should be but sadly aften are not. Being in the Scottish tourism industry I have seen many B&B's and this is up there with the best.

My wife, who is a cleanliness fanatic, pronounced it spotless which coming from her is high praise indeed. Rooms are very well appointed and beds are very comfortable.

Breakfast is very good, did not have cooked breakfast but saw no reason the suspect that this would not be up to the high standard.

Readers may find this all a little gushing but its rare to find a gem like this.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Jeremy. Thanks for the great review. Delighted to hear you liked the place so much. Maybe see you again sometime. Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $145 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is a stunning, 4 Star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the Rhodedendron garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. Free parking & Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing