We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We checked in after visiting the castle nearby without pre booking & were lucky enough to get the last room available. This room, 404, was located at the rear of the building above the kitchen & wasn't the most luxurious room that the hotel probably had. However it was well presented, clean & functional with a slight noise of the fan from the kitchen which did not disturb us. The bed was comfy, TV worked & even though the bathroom was old it did the job. The only thing I really didn't like was the carpet on the floor of the bathroom. There were so many places to sit throughout the hotel there was no need to be in the room unless sleeping really. The hotel is staffed by very pleasant people who did their utmost to look after us. We had dinner at the bar which had all the charm of an old English/Scottish pub. My meal, seafood pasta, was amazing. So large & so much seafood I could not eat it all & it was very tasty. My wife had a curry which was average but very edible. Breakfast was the usual offerings & even though we did not order a full breakfast what we had was very nice. In all a lovely place to really experience a grand old hotel with all the trimmings, especially for those from abroad.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 727 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely tradition Highland hotel. Quiet, clean, comfortable accommodation. Fabulously attentive local staff. Perfect escape from the bustle of daily life. Looking forward to our next visit in a few months time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geocojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Negative reviews before our 5day stay with treyn holidays were unfounded. Yes the hotel isn't modern it. Is old with character had a few issues .sorted straight away. Food . Service. Staff.all excellant.did the fact I had an advacado bathroom spoil my stay.? NO.. Nothing was to much trouble Well Done all.

Room Tip: If something isn't right tell someone .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the type of hotel that the Scottish tourist board should be attempting to remove from the tourist trail. Staying here can only leave a sour taste of scotland and given the exorbitant price charged for the dusty, low quality rooms with electric showers that provide a dribble of hot water. The decor is twenty years out of date with a different tartan at every turn!

This 'hotel', I use the word advisedly as this establishment is really an overgrown B&B and it survives solely on being located in the highlands. It charges a comparable rate to its competitors without the quality. The food offered is low quality home cooked from the 1970's and breakfast can only be compared to with a B& B in Blackpool from the same era!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Only stayed one night having booked it as the last night of a holiday. Booked using one of the "itson". vouchers. On arrival we had a fabulous cream tea, sandwiches, cakes and a glass of wine which was part of the deal included in the voucher price. Also included was the breakfast next day. Can't fault the beautiful breakfast or the helpful staff. The room we had, as others have mentioned, was a bit tired looking but it was ok for one night for the half price we paid. The staff, the welcome and the food could not be faulted in any way!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abercastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

a family run hotel which is tired in places but the service was second to none and we had a good evening meal and an exceptional breakfast! Usually at breakfast it is obvious that most of the plate was loaded some time ago and left on a hot plate to solidify - not here - eggs perfect as was the whole plate of goodies and the plates were piping hot which in itself was a rare treat! Room 201 was near the railway line but didn't really cause problems. A small room which was ok for one night but not so good if you wanted to book for longer - but perhaps that was why we were given it! Staff were so friendly and helpful - can't fault them there! Beer called Moulin Light was D - lish....try it if you get a chance...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We Stayed at the Atholl Arms for 1 night with friends and found the rooms a little tired but sufficient for what we needed. The food was good and the staff were very helpful, cheery and attentive. The hotel serves Moulin Ale which is brewed in a micro-brewery as part of its sister hotel in Pitlochry and this is well worth trying. We would be happy to recommend the hotel for a short break in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 174Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,900 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
809 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
472 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $83 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing