We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First visit for a b & b and afternoon tea, the afternoon tea was delicious with homemade hot scones with jam and cream and homemade meringues. We were booked in for just one night but enjoyed it so much we stayed another day. The staff very friendly and helpful and could not make you more welcome. Local ales also very good.
Visited Blair castle close to the hotel and found it very interesting but it helped by going on the guided tour as the guide was very informative. Will be definitely be visiting the hotel again as we had a great time.

Room Tip: No lift so pick the ground or first floor if you don't want a long trek while carrying cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 726 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

just returned from a nights B&B at this fabulous hotel,this is the second time we have stayed here and will definately not be the last,booked through an online booking site and got a fabulous deal! when we arrived we were checked in very quickly but found we had been given a twin room when a double was required,the manager quickly remedied this for us with no problem at all as the online booking site had not specified a double when booking, were were given a superior double room and it was lovely,really charming,full of character and had everything we required(a big thank you to the manager) we had our dinner in the bothy bar,great choice of menu and hearty portions!we retreated to the roaring fire in the reception and relaxed with our drinks on the comfy sofas...bliss!!....breakfast again,fantastic choice..huge portions and lovely service,staff very friendly without being obtrusive...we had a fabulous stay,was sad to be leaving and will definately return again this hotel is full of the scottish charm and character you would expect to find in such a location and highly recommend it......thank you for our perfect stay..

Room Tip: we have stayed twice and had a good room on both occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieg186532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited this hotel for a 4 day New Year break. it was a superb experience on our first ever venture to Scotland for the "Bells". We have stayed at the "Atholl" on previous visits, and it never disappoints. On this visit the place excelled, food, entertainment, atmosphere, and last but very much not least all the staff. New Years Eve was rather special, and the generosity of the owners and staff, could not be bettered in venues with a lot higher star rating. It was an absolute pleasure to be guests there, and cannot wait for 2013/2014. Once again a heartfelt thank you to everyone at The Atholl Arms for this experience. Who needs "Secret escapes website" with a place like this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed for one night and very much enjoyed the traditional feel that you just wouldn't get at a chain hotel. The food was good - we only dined in the bar because the huge (but v impressive) dining room felt a tad chilly. The staff we came into contact with were all lovely and the opportunity to sit by the fire, gazing at the Christmas tree was just what we wanted. We did feel at times that we had to look around for staff to get drinks, food and information but on the whole that's what you sacrifce to get something as unique as this. That said, the rooms desperately need upgrading and there is no excuse for things like shower curtains that are passed their best. Perfect location, Pitlochry is just beautiful and the wonderfully unchallenging walk up to the Falls of Bruar was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having been here many times, we again stopped off on our way from Edinburgh to Inverness on Friday the 13th of December as a party of three. Steak and Ale pie full of flavour and the venison olives were just right. Lovely cosy fire and pleasant staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Myself and a group of walkers went in after a particularly hard winter walk. We were greeted by a bad mannered barman who obviously didnt want to serve us. I asked for plate of chips but was told that I had to order a main meal. Asked if I could order soup and chips but was also told no! Ordered an overpriced hot chololate and it was cold, nasty mix floating in the bottom and frankly disgusting! Would not be in a hurry to go back. Easy things to get right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marydoll48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent a night here on our way to Orkney and again on our return a couple of days later. We had made a number of requests to accommodate a baby travelling with us and all these were met to the full.
The rooms provided were excellent and good value for money. We took our evening meals in the bar and these were very good and a real plate full.
Breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of choices available.
An hotel that I would strongly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirfieldOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
808 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
472 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $85 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing